This site is English – get used to it…

To blog or not to blog…


Neodigital Art: Democratised and open to everyone.

To blog or not to blog,

Sunday, 13 March 2011

This is my horoscope for today:

Information is changing your life whether it comes from books, overheard conversations, surfing the internet or from within the recesses of your own mind. Some of the concepts that you dare to entertain could blow a circuit as they are so different to the way most people think. But out of this you are hatching a cunning plan that could change your life forever.

It is accurate in as far as it goes; because information does govern my life as it does most people these days. I am immersed in social media. I am a regular member of LinkedIn, Facebook and of course Twitter; I blog here on WordPress and I am getting more popular as a writer. So why do I blog?

The concept of blogging started as web-logs; people doing a sort of online diary. I write my thoughts online and that include promoting the things that interest me like thrifty and frugal ideas and these appear popular. I enjoy writing satire and comedy and my recent blogs have proven popular with people who initially came here to read something else. I challenged the idea that western democracies are broke and cuts were necessary in my blog Its daylight robbery!I found that the titles were important and I have to make them memorable. I gave one the title “Great Expectations” when I wrote about my thoughts about what the future may hold for future generations.

The blog I was most pleased with was about Neodigital Art because that is genuinely socially exclusive; everyone with a computer and digital camera can join in. It isn’t just about taking photographs and digitally enhancing them but also about improving your photography and becoming more aware of your surroundings. It is also social because you need to communicate with other artists. I get comment encouraging me when I upload either to a blog or to Facebook; I am particularly pleased when it’s another artist whose work I admire.

If I become very successful as a blogger of course I can acquire sponsors which can mean getting paid or better still tax free gifts to review and blog about. If there is a landscape gardening company that would like to landscape my garden for free I would be happy to write a blog about it complete with photographs. I need block paving or decking so I can have a barbecue this summer. I am of course willing to review clothing; supermarkets (a gift voucher for Asda would be nice) and Vauxhall are welcome to get in touch if they want to give me a car. I am great at reviewing new cars; nearly as good as I am at testing new beds! I am torn about a bed; I want a king sized but wonder if it will take up too much room; offer me a free bed anyway, I’ll risk it.

I really want a weekly column for a magazine or website that I can think about all week and research; humour and satire of course.  If you have a request for a future blog, I can write on most subjects so please comment; follow me on Twitter or even subscribe to this blog.

I can write about the technical aspects of writing a WordPress blog too; I have just about got used to WordPress as a content management system. I may even have my own domain with WordPress on eventually. I can avoid all the mistakes I have made with these blogs then!

Social media is about helping other people and they are usually kind enough to help you; have made friends through chat rooms, Facebook, LinkedIn and stay in touch with Windows Live, email and occasionally Skype. If I want a break, I can drop in and have a quick chat in an online café with friends on LinkedIn; play Farmville because I blog on it and fast becoming an expert. Farmville secrets is $27; my Farmville millions tricks are free and I have about 700,000,000 coins to prove it.

Do comment if you have anything to say, ask or suggest. Thanks for reading and do check out the other blogs; it’s free…

6 responses

  1. Mike, I really believe that if we want something passionately enough, we put that desire “out there” and we work towards reaching that goal, then it will be ours. :-)
    Good luck to all of us!
    PS It is much preferred that that goal of ours will benefit mankind — as well as ourselves. :-)

    13, March 2011 at 2:33 pm

    • Mankind? I’ll even include women… :) Not sure about politicians though. :)

      13, March 2011 at 2:58 pm

  2. Great post! Stepping up the x-link campaign I see. =p

    13, March 2011 at 6:46 pm

    • My page views have dropped dramatically but the cross links mean each readers reads at least 2 blogs and the average on some days has been 4 blogs. I will get more visitors, the problem is quality inward links. I have done my target for March; double February and will probably triple February’s page views. Nice to have readers!:)

      14, March 2011 at 9:19 pm

  3. Green

    first visit and love your blogs

    1, July 2011 at 9:22 pm

  4. Thanks Green I hope you’ll come back again.

    1, July 2011 at 11:50 pm

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 752 other followers