This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art: Update One


Neodigital Art

Neodigital Art - Try unusual angles, pointing the camera up at a building.

Neodigital Art: Update One

Impressionism was a 19th-century art movement that began as a loose association of Paris-based artists whose independent exhibitions brought them to prominence in the 1870s and 1880s. The name of the movement is derived from the title of a Claude Monet work, Impression, Sunrise (Impression, soleil levant), which provoked the critic Louis Leroy to coin the term in a satiric review published in Le Charivari.

I wrote my first blog about Neodigital Art, last week and it seems to have captured the imagination of the imaginative. There were many schools of impressionism in the 19th century besides that Parisian one. The reason why the Paris based one was more successful and better known was that simple reference to it by Louis Leroy in his satiric review. I hope my reference to Neodigital Art will have a similar effect but again there are many different schools or styles.

My school is simple and I did consider calling it Neodigital Simplex Art. It is socially inclusive and requires only simple software and a basic digital camera. It isn’t just about taking photographs and trying to produce art; it is also about a style, a very simple style. I don’t get too fancy using expensive software like Photoshop or Fireworks.

We went out to take photographs on a Sunday afternoon and I only drove a mile to find the church in my first picture. I don’t need to drive far to find images; I just look for new ones near where I live. I even use Google maps Street view to check things out before I even start using petrol! This is frugal art! I took 150 photographs and so I’m spoiled for choice doing this blog. The church provided rich photographs with the multi-coloured stone and a deep blue sky contrasting with that. The colours looked a little subdued in the photograph but the software fixes that with one click and the Windows Live Photo Gallery software will even straighten a photo. I saw another church opposite the Church of England one and even the entrance made for a good photograph. I also photographed a building on the opposite corner from the church and that photograph is my next one. It lent itself nicely to altering using Fotosketcher. You can find that by searching with Google and it’s Freeware and so free!

This photo lent itself to 'enhancing' using Fotosketcher - experiment!

The impressionist artists of the 19th century talked about and shared art in the cafes and bars of 19th century Paris, we can do better; we have social media and the world. You can add me on Facebook, Twitter or Windows live.  There is a link to my Facebook profile in the sidebar and my user name on Windows Live is Mike10613; so you can do a search. There is also a link to Twitter. I’m not using Twitter to share images yet but it is a possibility. We do need a name for this group, apart from Neodigital, to distinguish it from the other groups. I thought Neodigital Simplex Art may do, because it is very simple but I am open to suggestions. I would like to associate it with the Heart of England as opposed to Paris. I have nothing against Paris, I just happen to be in the heart of England surrounded by stark industrial scenes and industrial canals that become slowly more beautiful as nature reclaims it’s own.

You can not only share your art if you join this group, but your views and thoughts through social media and the world of art is your oyster. It is also very easy. You just take a camera and photograph whatever you see interesting and try to keep it simple. I have lots more photographs from this Sunday and will go through them and add more to my blogs and upload more to Facebook. They do say that the opposite sex is more attracted to writers and artists; because we are willing to make a commitment; that is an added bonus. :)

The final picture is nice and it was back to the canal for this one; I like the winter colours in the bright sunshine.

The Canal: the bright sunshine muted the colours but the software soon fixed that.

Please check out my first Neogital Art blog.

4 responses

  1. Grannelle

    @Mike – been thinking about online image posting… I can’t deny I love the work you’re displaying (I’m an amateur shutterbug, w/ a Canon Rebel EOS digital). I’m reviewing some tech stuff, however; GIF vs. JPEG vs. PNG formats, meta data within the tag, etc. I’ll get w/ you later this week via eMail and let you know what I’ve come up with. Love talking this kind of stuff w/ you.

    BTW, your Neodigital artwork is simply beautiful.

    14, March 2011 at 11:54 pm

  2. Pingback: Creating a phenomena « Mike10613's Blog

  3. Pingback: Neodigital Art – Update Three « Mike10613's Blog

  4. Pingback: My Exhibition « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 955 other followers