This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art–Update Nine


BEFORE

Before

The photograph above is ‘before’ I altered it and the ‘after’ photo is below. I’ve used a picture of this bridge before and this isn’t a great photograph. You can see the river in the original picture and the small bridge it goes under and the bigger bridge that carries the aqueduct and canal over the top. The photo looks a little washed out with the bright sunshine and so I increased the contrast.

I also changed the colour a little and made it ‘warmer’ – in windows live photo gallery you can add blue to make it cooler or more reds to make it warmer. In the second picture you can see the bridges are redder and look better. To show the subject better and to get the photographs to fit the blog better. I’ve cropped the photograph, slightly from the top and a lot from the bottom. This makes the bridges more prominent, but you can’t see the river. The river isn’t the main focus of the picture and so we haven’t lost too much! 

After

AFTER

I’ll try to take a photograph with the express purpose a ‘for’ and ‘after’ with a tutorial for next time. The next photograph is a bridge just over the field and I used a photograph of this bridge last week; this is a different angle. This was taken by Simon James, just before we crossed the bridge. The photograph received a similar treatment; the colour was changed slightly and it was cropped to the bridge.

Bentley Mill bridge

The river was on the right of that bridge and when it floods it goes under the bridge and into a ditch to the left of the bridge and the field probably acts as a flood plain. The next picture is boring but the effects of altering the colours is interesting. All we have is water and sky but changing the colours a little, brought out the sun coming through the clouds. That can be quite spectacular if you alter the histogram.

view 3

I hope you liked today’s pictures. There will be more heading up the blogs and more Neodigital Art next week.  Yesterday, I went Oriental with Chinese Ambitions, following Monday’s blog – what would you do? When I asked what you would do if you were running your country.  You may like to click ‘like’ on this blog or ‘share’ unless of course you prefer to follow me on Twitter!

Smile

Thrifty Thursday tomorrow!

16 responses

  1. It’s interesting to see how the focus of the picture changes after altering the colours and cropping the pictures. I love waht you have done.

    8, June 2011 at 11:28 am

  2. Thanks, it can be much more dramatic if there is a lot of light and colour and I alter the histogram. I tend to go for something more dramatic if I don’t like the photograph, on the basis I have nothing to lose. You can revert to the original picture with Windows Live photo gallery though. Cropping is useful for a narrow page like this and brings the focus on to the subject. I tend to crop out sky, grass or anything boring!

    8, June 2011 at 12:03 pm

  3. Excellent photography and very nice site and blog. Thank you for the information and sharing. I like the photo enhancements and thanks for the techniques.

    8, June 2011 at 3:12 pm

  4. Thanks, Mina and Mark;

    i was up on top of that aqueduct earlier and took some nice pictures because the angle was unusual. We were getting back in the car when I saw a narrow boat up there and we missed it! That is a rare and unusual sight these days and it was as long as the aqueduct! Maybe, we will get lucky and photograph it some other time; it at least shows the canal is navigable. I’ll go through all the photographs this evening finding the best ones for future blogs!

    8, June 2011 at 4:41 pm

  5. These pictures are absolutely stunning. I enjoyed the before and the afters. I have no expertise at all when it comes to photography, but I certainly enjoyed the view from your photos here. You did a great job capturing a gorgeous setting and bringing out the highlights of each photo. Lovely.

    9, June 2011 at 4:49 am

  6. Thanks, I have more photos to come; we had really good light and blue skies yesterday. Light is important and one of my best pictures was from high up at an unusual angle. I don’t like heights and it was windy; I also had the canal behind me! Those places are hard to get to, but worth it.

    9, June 2011 at 10:01 am

    • Hey, Mike, do you allow your pictures to be used on other sites with attribution?

      9, June 2011 at 3:07 pm

  7. Yes, you can use them. You can double click the picture and right click when it comes up in a new window to download. I would appreciate a link back to the blog I used it in. If you need a particular picture let me know. I do scenes, I like bridges and steps and some buildings and of course water!

    9, June 2011 at 3:14 pm

    • This is wonderful, Mike, I will certainly attribute it to you and do a linkback. Thank you!

      9, June 2011 at 10:06 pm

  8. Robin Moynihan

    Mike, these are absolutely stunning. My first visit to your blog and I am impressed. Just lovely!

    10, June 2011 at 2:03 pm

  9. Hi Robin,

    Thanks, there will be more to come next week. I have good light for photographs today and hope it will continue over the weekend. Blues skies! :)

    10, June 2011 at 2:38 pm

  10. Writing a blog about inspiration and motivation makes me immediately attracked to your photography. You TRULY have a gift. I am amazed at how drastically different the same picture looks with a little technical tweeking.

    I used to work on doctoring photos all the time. I’m rusty but you’ve inspired me to not let this hobbie die.

    11, June 2011 at 2:57 pm

  11. Hi Jermaine,

    I think photographs in blog helps to make them more interesting and often contributes to the message.

    11, June 2011 at 3:20 pm

  12. Hi Mike,

    Your photography is stunning…my particular favorite is the “boring” one. I know you had to manipulate it to get that effect but I hardly consider it boring….it made me feel like I was actually experiencing it…and in that case…there is NOTHING boring about it : )

    Thank you

    13, June 2011 at 3:32 pm

  13. Hi Rachel,

    That photograph is interesting, that was why I used it and sometimes I just take pictures of the clouds. It wasn’t manipulated very much; I don’t use Photoshop, I enhance what is already there now. I made the mistake of doing too much with the photos. We have been taking more pictures today and I have watched the light hoping for better light and effects just like that. The light is coming through the clouds now as it draws close to sunset. I keep reminding people to keep looking around, it’s amazing what we miss!

    13, June 2011 at 6:51 pm

  14. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 20 « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 867 other followers