This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Update Fourteen


Montgomery Tuesday 5 July 2011 (15)

This first picture is a little grey and boring. This was taken by Simon James at Montgomery in Wales. By contrast the next picture is a little more interesting because I went quite radical when I altered it.

A Neodigital Art

This picture is more colourful and impressionist. The sky in particular is impressionist. I altered the histogram in Windows Live photo gallery to get this effect. I also had a second try and altered it a little more! In the second picture I’ve also cropped more from the bottom of the picture.

In Windows Live you can also convert a picture to sepia for an unusual effect and this works particularly well with old buildings.

Masonic hall

I took this photograph on Sunday and it’s a masonic hall (used by freemasons) and it’s quite unusual. I have made this one sepia and it seems to work well. We photographed this hall and then just down the street is the town hall, art gallery and a Victorian Post office. The art gallery is still used as an art gallery. The lakes that we’ve photographed before as very close by; less than a quarter of a mile away.

Sunday around Walsall 044

It’s difficult deciding which photograph to use; but I’ve gone with the buildings. I altered this a little cropping some from the bottom, adding contrast and warmth. I drove down that road and turned left and there is the lake and the open space.

Sunday around Walsall 068

This is different from the photographs I took a few weeks ago; the light wasn’t so bright. It’s still a nice photograph though, but without the clouds reflecting on the water. I also found that the river runs behind those trees, I thought it ran into the lake! You can find more blogs on the home page.

10 responses

  1. Mike,

    I think I like the fourth picture,the building which is in the style of England~Like it!

    13, July 2011 at 2:10 am

  2. Hi Ricelin,

    That is a beautiful building. It has paintings in the art gallery and lots of exhibits from local history. The building next door is the town hall, but no longer used as such and so not maintained so well; that is a shame. My grand father came here from Stratford upon Avon (Shakespeare’s birth place) and opened a bakery near there at the beginning of the 20th century.

    I tried to take photographs of wild flowers yesterday with a landscape in the background. There wasn’t quite enough light but we should do better next time. We see interesting things, volcanic rock, a horse in a field and I was quite surprised to see rabbits! :)

    13, July 2011 at 10:09 am

  3. Love the photography – I even love that first gray walled image :)

    14, July 2011 at 6:39 am

  4. The thing I dislike about that image is that it’s an historic wall and someone has fixed a modern sign to it!

    14, July 2011 at 9:05 am

  5. Hi Mike, I’m probably not qualified to disagree with you, but the top photo is my favorite. Usually I prefer your enhanced images, but the top photo inspires me to write a Gothic novel! The mood of the top photo is very intense.

    I also like the sepia one, but I would also like to see the original to see the difference between the original and enhanced (as you did with the top two pictures).

    But don’t get me wrong. I thoroughly enjoyed all of your pictures. I feel as if I get two amazing blogs in one when I visit your Neodigital blogs: an art blog with stunning photography and an educational blog teaching me about photography. Thanks for all of it!

    16, July 2011 at 3:20 am

  6. I like different pictures depending on my mood! I also take different types depending on my mood. Last week it was buildings and this week flowers! I have taken a couple of wild flowers with a landscape in the background. I liked a photograph taken in my garden of a bunch of apples on the tree too. Someone commented on Facebook and liked a picture of my garden. In the foreground was a potato plant and the garden was background!
    :P

    16, July 2011 at 10:38 am

  7. So do you set out to a certain location based upon your mood or do you arrive at a location and take the pictures based upon your mood?

    16, July 2011 at 5:24 pm

  8. Hi Carolyn,

    Both! :) If I’m stressed it tends to be somewhere local and often the lake or the river because it’s relaxing and I avoid traffic. On a Sunday, it’s quieter and so I’ll drive around like I did last Sunday and we explore ‘foreign parts’. I am getting into taking pictures of flowers now with a landscape as background. Tomorrow, I want to go to a supermarket and the river is a few hundred yards away and so I’ll probably end up there. My friend keeps asking to go to a farm. I might go there, it’s down a winding lane but there is a lake and not much else except fields and cows. It’s a nature reserve too and a long walk to explore all of it! If he behaves and doesn’t give me any wrong directions I might take him there!

    16, July 2011 at 6:28 pm

  9. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 20 « Mike10613's Blog

  10. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 24 « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 832 other followers