This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Update 18


VIDEO 1 083

Look for the unusual

I took this photograph in an alley and as you can see there was a Victorian style street lamp and the building on the right has some lamps similar. The scene looked Victorian and unusual; you should always look for the unusual, if the photograph doesn’t work out there is no loss with digital.

Tettenhall Wednesday 6 July 2011 (18)

This photograph was taken by Simon James in Tettenhall, Wolverhampton and has a similar lamp post, but I also like the steps in this photograph. it’s an interesting mixture of old and modern.

Sister Dora General Hospital Walsall

This is a photograph of the old Sister Dora hospital which was the General Hospital at Walsall. It interesting because the Victorian entrance has been used in conjunction with a modern building.

WEDNESDAY - WOLVERHAMPTON 026

I have ‘warmed’ this more to bring out the red of the railings and the colours are interesting. You can see that I was looking for depth in the photograph and used the railings for that. I often try to get something in the foreground to give a photograph depth but if something is going away into the distance like these railings are that gives the photograph depth.

I hope you like today’s blog and you might like to read Putin’s army which I wrote yesterday; that one is different! A Sunday ramble was about me cooking my Sunday lunch! Most people need to save money and so they are reading the thrifty and frugal blogs. You might also like last weeks Neodigital Art blog. there are also lots more on the Home Page. On Monday people read, no less than 57 different blogs on this site, so some are good!

Smile with tongue out

Thanks for visiting…

Smile

 

18 responses

  1. Okay, I just had to sneak in your post before I left. I am so glad your pictures aren’t of burnt buildings, that’s all we’re seeing of beautiful England here in the US. Thank you for reminding us of the loveliness of your country.

    I love how you use objects to show depth in these pictures. The red railing in the last picture and the steps in Picture 2 really take me into the scene. I learn so much from your lessons, I will try to remember everything you taught me on vacation!

    I’ll catch up after I get back…

    10, August 2011 at 6:30 pm

  2. Hi Carolyn,

    Have a good holiday. You should get a good picture of the ship and it’s going to some interesting places. Docks make great pictures.

    10, August 2011 at 6:49 pm

  3. What a beautiful and thought-provoking blog. I have no photography skills whatsoever and I so enjoyed your various thoughts and perspectives. Thanks so much and I’ll definitely be back again!

    10, August 2011 at 8:10 pm

  4. Hi Sandra,

    It ain’t rocket science, if you have a digital camera, read my blogs and have a go. It gives you images for your blogs. You have the basic idea, you understand perspectives; you are a photographer! :)

    10, August 2011 at 8:26 pm

  5. Very nice pics indeed…..I’m a big fan of the Victorian era which is why I am hoping one of these days, I will be the proud owner of a Victorian style home here in the states. If nothing else, I will finally get a chance to create a lovely, stained glass window for it.

    10, August 2011 at 8:41 pm

  6. Hi,

    Thanks for visiting, I am really a fan of Victoriana and all the great art and books of that period. i really like Dickens and Art Nouveau and have an amazing collection of postcards from the period.

    Please visit, again…

    10, August 2011 at 11:01 pm

  7. Very nice pics, and I agree with looking for the unusaul.

    17, August 2011 at 2:57 pm

  8. Hi George,

    Thanks for the visit, I liked this weeks of English woodland, but a little too green; the light wasn’t great either. We haven’t had many sunny days, too much rain.

    17, August 2011 at 3:28 pm

  9. Hi Mike, Quick question for you. I know you suggest adding a branch, stairs, etc. to a picture to give it depth. But what if you’re taking a picture where you can’t get that perspective, say a sunset over the water over the side of a ship? How do you make pictures like those interesting? I wish I had a natural talent for this sort of thing, but I appreciate your sharing your gifts and learning with us!

    23, August 2011 at 4:06 am

  10. Hi Carolyn,

    On a ship, I would look down the side of the ship rather than out to sea and see if that was a good shot. If the sunset is starboard though, then I would look for part of the ship to piut in the foreground. The depth could come from the size of the waves though, they would look larger closer to the ship. You just look at every possible shot and see which would be the best.

    23, August 2011 at 8:37 am

  11. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 20 « Mike10613's Blog

  12. Thanks, I will try that next time. One night there was an incredible moon. Pink. I’ve never seen a pink moon before. My daughter got the shot of the moon with reflections off the water from the back of the ship. Any suggestions for that shot? (Not that I will ever see a pink moon again!)

    24, August 2011 at 3:36 pm

    • Photographing the moon is difficult. I got a shot of that really large moon not long ago. It probably is best to get a shot as a reflection on water. It might be possible to get a shot of it reflected on something else. Pythagoras is said to have seen a message in blood on the moon when he looked at it in a mirror – no one seems to know what the message was though! :)

      24, August 2011 at 7:50 pm

  13. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 23 « Mike10613's Blog

  14. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 24 « Mike10613's Blog

  15. Pingback: A Sunday ramble… « Mike10613's Blog

  16. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 25 « Mike10613's Blog

  17. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 28 « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 831 other followers