This site is English – get used to it…

Frugal Friday | Saving on interest


Vauxhall Vectra LS

Motoring

I have started with a picture of my car, now 14 years old. A smaller car would be cheaper to run but the depreciation on my car has been around £350 a year over a 7 year period. It’s still in quite good condition and I expect it to last a few more years so depreciation will be even less in the longer term.  I checked my fuel consumption today and it was about 6 miles to a litre of petrol; I could do better! It was 7.5 on a Sunday.

Lidl

Yes, I went back to Lidl today drawn by the chicken drumstick prices; I like my chicken. The Up and over Ale is on offer 6 for £6; I had to sample it and compare it with Old Speckled Hen! I like it! I think ale should not have hops, but it has less than Old Speckled Hen and so less bitter. I’m going back for more!

I also bought all the chicken drumsticks, both packs for £2.25 (1Kg) pack. I also had chicken legs at £2.65  (1Kg), they are usually cheaper than drumsticks. A bottle of soy sauce for 79p was better than Asda. A pack of bacon at £1.19 was great, I like to wrap the drumsticks in bacon. I had pork loins steaks for £2.99 and they will either be Sunday lunch or I cut them up for stir fry. I had a can of plum tomatoes for 31p that may go with the bacon or could contribute to a barbecue sauce with my Herbs d’ Provence (49p). I had a broccoli mix vegetables, I had 2 at 99p each; that is good for frozen broccoli. I ended up at the till and dropped 2 bottles of Teacher’s scotch into the trolley 70cl for £12.49. I bought a few other things, like canned fruit and veg to try. A bottle of vinegar 500ml for 29p; the stuff from Morrison’s was spirit vinegar, not very nice.

I wish they had more drumsticks and I think the best bargain was the ‘Up and Over Ale’. I bought Lidl’s own Biological liquid for £3.59 for laundry; I’ll test it!

Smile with tongue out

I insured my car this month and they wanted extra £50 to pay monthly.  I used to hear stories of when people pawned their best suit in the middle of the week and redeemed it at the weekend so they had it to go to church. That was an obvious waste of money and they never caught up, they simply paid the pawn broker every week. Credit and loans is the same today, if you don’t pay off your credit card in full, you never catch up. Pay day loans are legalised loan sharking and should be made illegal.  I have interest from a bond this month to pay my car insurance which is much better than paying interest! If you do have debts, try paying them off slowly and then when you have some savings, invest it wisely. Unfortunately, the NS and I saving certificate has been withdrawn and so saving in real terms is difficult. I do intend to save more with Zopa and for a limited period they have reduced their borrowing fee to £100. You have to get in quick though it’s only for the rest of September but it’s worth getting a Zopa loan to consolidate and pay off credit cards or other expensive debt. I’ll update my Zopa blog soon as I put more money into it. I only put £500 in to check it out, but now it seems a good investment, I can invest a lot more…

Smile

You might like yesterday’s Thrifty Thursday too and there are lots more on the Home Page.

 

7 responses

  1. Hi Mike,

    Looks like you found some bargains. All that food talk made me hungry. In these times, we all need to cut back where we can.

    10, September 2011 at 2:59 am

    • Hi Cathy,

      I spent rather a lot, but have a freezer full of food that will last weeks! When I can save that much money on one shopping expedition it makes you realise some supermarkets do load prices. I read that ‘organic’ food tastes better, but although there is less pesticides there is a risk of salmonella. I find it all tastes the same unless it straight from my garden!

      Thanks for you visit. :)

      10, September 2011 at 8:41 am

  2. Hi Mike, I agree with Cathy, your food blogs are so descriptive I can practically smell them! How do you cook your yummy chicken legs with bacon?

    I agree on keeping a car as long as possible. The first car I bought I kept for 13 years. I only got rid of it because I had a baby and it was a two seater car, very difficult to get a baby out of a rear facing car seat!

    Thanks for all of your great tips!

    11, September 2011 at 12:16 am

  3. Hi Carolyn,

    You simply wrap the drumsticks in bacon and put them in the oven! I also put bacon over a whole chicken or turkey. The more fat on the bacon the better really and so cheap bacon is ideal. I must write more food blogs. :)

    11, September 2011 at 9:12 am

  4. I love that you’ve had your car for 14 years! In this age of consumerism, it’s refreshing to see frugality back in style so to speak. It is the road to happiness, I think! Thank you for stopping by my blog, I appreciate your insight!
    I lived in Lancaster for 6 months, I do miss the countryside. :)

    11, September 2011 at 6:15 pm

    • Hi Isra,

      More and more people now are going thrifty and frugal, I hope the trend continues when the western economies pick up. There is a big problem at the moment to find good ways to save and invest though.

      11, September 2011 at 6:23 pm

  5. Pingback: Thrifty Thursday 13 « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 836 other followers