This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Update 28


panoramic 1

Panoramic

I took this picture on Sunday and it’s panoramic. There is a road running at the side of the lake and I have the houses on at the left of the picture and the whole lake too. You can double click this photograph to get a better view. What I did was select video mode on my camera and then shoot video for a couple of seconds panning from left to right slowly. I then ‘stitched’ all the frames together with Microsoft ICE, it’s free from Microsoft research.  I’ve only managed to do panoramas from video so far, but you should be able to shoot a series of photographs panning across a scene and stitch them together into a panorama. I may not have ICE installed properly for that. There is a YouTube video that explains how ICE works.

OCTOBER 056

This picture may look panoramic but it’s not, it’s simply stretched, the ducks look too wide and so do the trees!

Smile with tongue out

OCTOBER 056

This is how that photograph should look! I like the colours now as we get into Autumn.

OCTOBER 059

You can see the Autumn colour better in this photograph. I simply edited this with Windows Live photo gallery. The panoramic picture wasn’t edited so much.

panoramic 2

This is my second attempt at that panorama. You can see the houses better. I think the clouds look better too, but where are the ducks and geese?

There are more blogs on the Home Page. I hope you have enjoyed my experiments into photography and Neodigital Art.

11 responses

  1. I haven’t heard of ICE. I’ll have to investigate, or at least pass the info on to my DH! Lovely pictures above.

    18, October 2011 at 10:29 am

    • Hi,

      I’m still experimenting with ICE (Image Composite editor) I’m still not sure how it handled individual images. I can do panoramas from video though. You need better light for video I find though.

      Thanks for visiting. Microsoft research also has a program for doing collages, I tried that, but I’m not so keen.

      18, October 2011 at 10:40 am

  2. bren

    Hi Mike,

    This is a hot tip…wil check it out as ive just been thinking of doing a panorama…some nice pics too…kepp your blog going…nice mix of info and humour…ttfn

    18, October 2011 at 5:12 pm

    • The panoramas look better in original size. Microsoft research have lots of free programs, there is one for programming in Visual basic, I wish I could get the hang of that. I used to program in Quickbasic!

      Thanks for the comment.

      18, October 2011 at 6:33 pm

  3. michellemarr

    Hello,
    Your pictures are lovely. I like the frame of the darker trees around the lake. I am inspired to go and take some pictures of my own.

    19, October 2011 at 12:21 am

  4. Hi Michelle,

    I think it’s an interest that everyone can enjoy now and adding pictures to blogs is good. Digital cameras are amazing and with free software you can edit to get them just the way you want them.

    Thanks for visiting.

    19, October 2011 at 10:04 am

  5. What a great post! Fantastic pictures and helpful instructions. I’m glad you explained about the ducks. I really liked the panoramic photo over the stretched one, but I wasn’t sure why.

    There are a lot of panoramic apps on smartphones. I have one or two, I haven’t taken the time to figure out how to use them. Perhaps now I will!

    I look forward to even more autumn photos from you. I agree, the colors are fantastic.

    20, October 2011 at 12:52 pm

  6. Hi Carolyn,

    I have seen some photographs wher ethe sky has been made blue by PhotoShop and I prefer the natural colours and all those different shades. I do get winter colours but they are harder to edit. I added a little blue to picture with snow because they were too white! I think I’ll be doing more indoor pictures in winter!

    20, October 2011 at 1:55 pm

  7. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 29 « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: Neodigital Art Update 30 « Mike10613's Blog

  9. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Buildings « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers