This site is English – get used to it…

A Monday Ramble | Photography


I took a lot of photographs over the weekend. It was sunny on Saturday and the light was good; not so good yesterday,  but I got some good pictures.

PARK 006

I took this one on Saturday and you can see the Autumn colours and the shadows make it more interesting too. This was just public open space by the river.

Wolverhampton 001

We went to Sandwell Valley, here in The heart of England, yesterday. The river Tame runs through and there are a few pools and two farms open to the public.

Wolverhampton 002

You can see the River Tame and Forge Mill lake on this picture. There is lots to photograph but the light wasn’t as good as on Saturday.

Wolverhampton 015

The Victorian buildings make for a good photograph and this one is the Farm shop at Forge Mill Farm. It is quite unusual and there are other similar Victorian style building and some modern buildings housing  the animals and they also do milking there. I think they make their own dairy ice cream too.

There is lots to discover on a day out in a nature reserve like this and I’ll be using more photographs in other blogs. I took more of the farm and  the animals, then we moved on to Swan Pool where we got some photographs of that pool complete with wildlife. There are more blogs to discover on the Home Page; thanks for reading. You can also comment, especially if you know Sandwell Valley!

Smile

11 responses

  1. Wow, your photo quality on here is AMAZING. I am so glad I met you and get your updates each day. I cannot wait for your daily posts.

    24, October 2011 at 12:31 pm

    • HI Jackie,

      I had a good weekend taking photographs and so will be using more of them in tomorrow’s blog. I have been to that farm before, but took a lot more photographs this time. My photography has improved over the past year too and I’m getting the Autumn colours better.

      Thanks for visiting, I’m coming up to 30,000 page views this week!

      24, October 2011 at 1:05 pm

  2. Beautiful photos! I love the landscape and the farm shop. Thanks for sharing.

    24, October 2011 at 2:48 pm

    • Hi Gracie,
      Thanks I think the Farm shop is one of my favourites. I have a lot more of farm building and even the cows and sheep! There will be more photographs from there tomorrow!

      Thanks for visiting. :)

      24, October 2011 at 2:55 pm

  3. There are many beauties in Victorian buildings – especially working buildings. I can understand why that farm shop is one of your favourites. What was its original use?

    25, October 2011 at 10:07 am

    • Hi,

      I think that building was once a barn because it appears to have once had a hay loft. The bricks fascinate me because they are all different colours. We have a museum here that is all old building that have been taken apart brick by brick and rebuilt on the museum site. they ahve a pub, fish and chip shop, cinema; you name it. I want to go and photograph those next summer.

      Thanks for the comment.

      25, October 2011 at 11:04 am

  4. Hi Mike, I always love your photos, but I especially love the one of the farm shop today. That looks like it would be a very inviting place to shop. Have you ever shopped there? What do they sell?

    25, October 2011 at 4:48 pm

  5. Hi Carolyn,

    The farm shop is a great building, so interesting. They sell things for tourists, like ice creams and drinks. I saw souvenirs too like badges for the children. There is a Wall’s ice cream sign outside but I was told they make Cornish dairy ice cream from the milk. I saw them milking and I saw what looks like a machine for making ice cream. I’ll do more of those buildings next week, I took photos of the cow shed and milking parlour and other buildings. I even photographed the cat! :)

    25, October 2011 at 5:01 pm

  6. Pingback: A Sunday Ramble « Mike10613's Blog

  7. Pingback: Sunday Ramble | economics « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: It was an interesting week though « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 902 other followers