This site is English – get used to it…

A Sunday Ramble: Food


PRAWNS

In the stone age they ate tubers from the ground, I suppose that’s the same as me eating potatoes; except I don’t have to forage for them.  I do a little foraging in the fruit and veg department of the supermarket but it’s not exactly getting my hands dirty. They say the discovery of fire made all the difference; that first class animal protein made our ancestors brains develop quickly and many of them became smarter; the rest went into politics!

Anyway, I took a few left over potatoes, half a tin of salmon, a lettuce leaf, a chicken drumstick and thawed a few Icelandic prawns and made myself a gourmet lunch. It was yummy!

Smile with tongue out

PORK, POTATO AND CABBAGE

This was left over potato fried golden brown, you haven’t lived unless you have had fried potato. I fried my pork medallion slowly and added some white cabbage; not the most frugal meal I’ve cooked but cheaper and tastier than the meals we see those chefs on TV cook.

EGG AND BACON 022

This was that old standby bacon ‘n’ egg with a few chips, green beans and fried tomato; yummy. They say tomatoes and the stuff they eat in the Mediterranean is good for you. I’m not so sure, I think a stone age diet is probably the best. In medieval England they ate a lot of duck and and water fowl. They would also eat eggs, but maybe not chicken eggs. Chickens come from Asia and turkeys come from America. People were mainly vegetarian before they discovered fire and started cooking. That was what made them smarter! Food can affect your growth, physical and mental. Some children who don’t absorb their food probably don’t grow to  a normal height. I think you need vitamins and minerals and enough protein to develop normally. I wonder what politicians eat?

They say you are, what you eat. What are you eating? Too much fat is bad for you and the same can be said of carbohydrates. Losing weight is quite easy if you substitute fibre for fat and carbs. I’m hungry now…

Smile with tongue out

There are more blogs on the Home Page.

5 responses

  1. Dave Hinchcliffe

    Hi Mike,
    Another great post! You know that I like extreme frugality. My latest trick on a Sunday is to read about your Sunday meal, drool over your food photos, tighten my belt and say oh well , think about the money I have saved by going without!
    Seriously though I too obtained the 2 kg of carrots for 0.76p. My version of carrot soup.

    5 mediun carrots thinly sliced and then chopped into chips.
    1 medium white onion finely chopped
    2 cloves of peeled garlic mashed.
    1/2 inch of root dry ginger finely chopped
    1 peeled clementine mashed
    touch of chilli powder.
    1/2 teaspoon of tumeric.

    Mix up and just cover with cold water. Bring to boil and simmer for ten minutes adding more boiling water if necessary. The trick is in the fine chopping. I reckon that 5 minutes extra spent on this saves many £’s in energy cost. Yummy!

    Dave

    6, November 2011 at 1:01 pm

    • Hi Dave,

      That recipe sounds good. i have a pancreatic problem and so I can;t have spices though. My carrot soup was nice but tasted sweet. There is a lot of fructose in carrots though. These meals weren’t that frugal, especially the prawns! I think egg and chips even using oven chips is frugal though. I saw a electric fry thing on TV that used very little oil; but the electric would cost a fortune! I’m off to Lidl this afternoon in search of bargains. I think the chicken legs are £1.89 a kilo this weekend!

      6, November 2011 at 1:41 pm

  2. Pingback: Gourmet Food | Icelandic Prawn Salad « Mike10613's Blog

  3. I didn’t knew you could get salmon in a tin! Can you please post a picture of the tin or name the brand so I can google it? How’s the taste compared to fresh salmon? Do you need to cook it or is it edible directly from the tin?

    7, November 2011 at 9:11 am

  4. Hi Cardinal,

    Yes, you can get salmon in a tin! You can eat it straight from the tin and it tastes better if you drain it and sprinkle a little vinegar on it. I like John West. There is a well known advert for it on Youtube – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FARnbRBWKGg

    7, November 2011 at 10:00 am

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 882 other followers