This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Flying Geese


LAKE AVENUE 012

The geese quite often think i have food for them but they should be fed on grain rather than bread. They come towards me and then turn away disappointed. This time they flew towards me and the ones whose feet are at the top of this photograph only just missed me! I was lucky that they all veered off to avoid hitting me. Sometimes you have to stand your ground to get your picture!

LAKE AVENUE 015

I got a better shot once things had calmed down. The focus is on the geese but I like the background with the trees in silhouette against the sky. The shadows also make the pictures more interesting. The sun was bright and this was taken in the morning. You can see one bird flying and that shows the camera speed was fast which I can do in really good light.

LAKE AVENUE 020

I’ve taken this picture lots of times before but this is different because it was taken in the morning and in Autumn. I think it has nice colours and the trees again are a silhouette against the sky.

LAKE AVENUE 033

This is a different lake; I saw it on the map but it’s not visible from the road. I often check out places on Streetview but this was hidden behind trees. This lake is much smaller and so very still. I like the colours again and it looks very tranquil. It’s close to houses but I only saw one person walking their dog.

LAKE AVENUE 047

The light was still very good later in the afternoon and so I went on to yet another lake. This is Forge Mill Lake, in the Sandwell Valley nature reserve. It was cold and there was a biting wind but as you can see blue sky and it was sunny. I got that tree in the foreground to add depth and the lake appears to be going away from us. The colours again are stunning.

I hope you have enjoyed today’s blog and pictures, please comment and let me know what you think. As usual there are more blogs on my Home Page.

11 responses

  1. Great pictures, Mike! Amazing how you can get shots of geese in flight. My favorite is the fourth picture. I like the way it’s framed and the peacefulness of the lake, but they’re all great!

    29, November 2011 at 8:09 pm

  2. Hi Carolyn,

    That shot of the geese was more luck than anything else! I don’t think I was even looking through the view finder, I was expecting that one to hit me! The last one I zoomed in a little to get the tree on. Some of the others have nothing in the foreground and less depth. That lake is unusual because the river flows around it. The same river flows at the side of the first lake even though they are miles apart.

    29, November 2011 at 8:33 pm

  3. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Editing tutorial « Mike10613's Blog

  4. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Changing scenes « Mike10613's Blog

  5. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Shadows and Reflections « Mike10613's Blog

  6. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Light and Locations « Mike10613's Blog

  7. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Difficult Light « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Snow and Ice « Mike10613's Blog

  9. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Winter locations « Mike10613's Blog

  10. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Light on the lens « Mike10613's Blog

  11. Pingback: » Neodigital Art | Light on the lens A Zillion Ideas and counting…

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers