This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Winter locations


DSCF8913

Art or photography?

I regard photography as a branch of art. Just snapping a picture isn’t art but if you put some effort into producing something aesthetically pleasing, then I think it’s art. I don’t edit a great deal and wouldn’t consider making the sky in my photograph blue. I think the trees looking like silhouettes against the sky and the rather dull colours tells you this is a winter photograph. It was in fact freezing! It was a nice church though, a shame there was no where else to park my car.

DSCF8923

Victoria Park

Victoria Park (Tipton) was in the same street as the church and I took a few photographs around this pool. This is the best one because it has that fence going away from us, giving the photo depth. I edited that photo on Sunday but changed it a little earlier to try to get the trees in silhouette against the sky better.

DSCF8926

Unusual places

I was freezing cold when I left the park, heading for that bridge you can see to the left of this picture. It’s quite unusual the way the road goes up steeply over a canal bridge.

DSCF8929

This photo is a little dull and you can see the ice on the canal tow path The canal boats make the picture a little more interesting. On the right is the railway and I did get a shot of a train going past! Then the sun came out for a couple of minutes!

DSCF8941

This was with the sun shining and you can tell by the shadows it was over to my right. This is more artistic though! I was quite high up and on a ‘bridge’ type camera like mine you get quite a good zoom. Dudley castle was visible through the murk and I got a shot of that. It was nearly 2 miles away though and you need a clear day for those shots.

DSCF8977

The canal goes through a tunnel a little farther up the canal here. This was the best shot of the afternoon because the sun came out again and was shining across the canal highlighting that unusual bridge on the other side. I also have depth in this shot from the tree in the foreground and the canal goes away into the distance; towards the Netherton tunnel.

Even in winter when it’s freezing there are interesting shots if you choose your location and wait for the sun to break through the clouds. I was looking at some photographs from the summer and they look almost too good; winter photographs are different and can be just as interesting but more challenging.

There are more amazing blogs on the Home Page. Like the pictures? Please comment or click ‘like’. If you were intrigued by the road sign in the first picture on the right side of the road (it would usually be on the left), it’s to warn truck drivers of a low bridge 8 ‘ 3” down the road should they turn left.

 

18 responses

  1. The church is lovely.
    Its like a mini Westminster Cathedral

    21, February 2012 at 11:09 am

    • Hi Brendan,

      That area isn’t known for its beauty, yet there were two nice churches in the same road and Victorian swimming baths around the corner. That building was covered in posters and banners advertising something and the other church was difficult to photograph. I got a shot from the park but with a tree in the way! That town has a canal going all the way around and so technically it’s an island in the middle of England! :)

      21, February 2012 at 11:17 am

  2. Your photographs depict absolutely beautiful landscaping, and the church is so unique – you live in a very lovely and characteristic area.

    21, February 2012 at 12:37 pm

    • Hi Ronnie,

      I just zoomed in on the Coat on Arms over the door of that building. It says ‘Tipton Library’ – it’s not a church it’s a library! I thought it was strange to have 2 churches in the same street! I shall have to research it now, I suspect it’s an Andrew Carnegie library.

      Thanks for visiting and for the comment.

      21, February 2012 at 12:41 pm

  3. Hi Mike, Your pictures really draw me in. I like all of your pictures today and, if I had to choose, I would choose Victoria Park. That just looks lovely.

    I tried your suggestion of using blue on some snow pictures I took last week and I was very please with the results. It’s an easy modification with dramatic results.

    Thanks so much for sharing your helpful knowledge with us!

    22, February 2012 at 1:53 pm

  4. Hi Carolyn,

    A blue tint on snow and ice helps and highlights too, otherwise it tends to be all white. I wasn’t happy with the Victoria Park pictures, that one was the best! I think it was because i was freezing cold at the time. There is an outdoor living museum about a mile from there and I hope to photograph that this summer. They take building apart brick by brick and rebuild them on the museum site. They also have narrow boats and old trams. It is a little expensive to get in though and so I want warm weather and good light!I only got good light when the sun broke through the clouds on Sunday. I liked the canal picture the best, that bridge was really unusual. The sun came out for a few minutes too!

    22, February 2012 at 2:07 pm

  5. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Good light–Bad light « Mike10613's Blog

  6. Pingback: » Neodigital Art | Good light–Bad light A Zillion Ideas

  7. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Light on the lens « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: Neodigital Art | technicalities « Mike10613's Blog

  9. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Camera settings « Mike10613's Blog

  10. Pingback: Neodigital Art| Spring photos « Mike10613's Blog

  11. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Sketch Art « Mike10613's Blog

  12. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Blue skies « Mike10613's Blog

  13. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Blue skies « Mike10613's Blog

  14. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Simple editing « Mike10613's Blog

  15. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Aging photos « Mike10613's Blog

  16. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Sunshine at last « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 937 other followers