This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Good light–Bad light


edited Version

The light was really good at the weekend for photography and I didn’t manage to take advantage of it. Good light brings problems, but not as many as poor light. Light is photons, little bundle of pure energy that bounce around everywhere. In good light you get the photons bouncing of your subject and into the camera and that gives you the picture. You also get some photons going in directly and this gives the pictures a less clear look, you can improve it with editing. I didn’t have that problem on Monday, the light was really poor and it was going to rain! I can still edit my photographs to improve them. The picture above was after editing; I made the picture lighter.

Poor light

the original

This was the original picture, very dark and dismal. It turned out darker than it should have been and so by lightening it, I get closer to what I saw through the viewfinder. I took a few photographs in this park but the light was so poor none of them are very good. I shall however go back on a better day and take this shot again. This picture can also be converted to sepia or black and white, after editing using Windows Live photo gallery.

Sepia

Sepia

This is a the sepia version and I think it works in a park where there is nothing to betray the fact it’s a modern photograph. It looks Victorian and makes for an interesting photograph. What do you think?

Black and white

Black and white 

It’s also worth checking to see what it looks like in black and white. In Windows Live photo gallery this is easy because it will convert it when you hover over the icons at the top of the screen so you can see what it’s like for a second. I think I like the black and white better than the sepia.

Highlights

edited Version (2)

This picture looks the same as the first one, but look carefully and I have increased the ‘highlights’ to make the trees at the back silhouette against the sky. It gives some contrast in the picture.

There are more amazing blogs on the Home Page. Please comment, which version of the picture do you prefer? The photograph was taken in Red House Park, nr Birmingham, England.

13 responses

  1. Your bottom Picture in my opinion is the best one out of the others for the trees and water. Shame on the other hand about the grass as the original unedited photo looks better for that. This highlights the issues with the windows program as it has an all or nothingness about it. If they were to let you select different areas to alter I reckon for basic photo editing it would be very hard to beat. It would be interesting to see a similar image with better lighting and in fact the a similar picture took through out the year.

    28, February 2012 at 2:25 pm

    • I like the last one but I like black and white too. It will be interesting to compare the same shot with better light.

      28, February 2012 at 3:04 pm

  2. I enjoyed the sepia tone, perhaps because it does appear to be vintage, but I think it’s interesting. I haven’t had good success “brightening” otherwise dull photos. Perhaps I just don’t have the right technique. I usually overdo it! Great suggestions here. Debra

    29, February 2012 at 6:05 am

    • Hi Debra,

      Using Windows Live Photo gallery, I usually increase highlights and contrast which makes the picture a little darker and then make it lighter. The light on your computer screen makes difference too. i often edit a photo in daylight and then come back to it later in artificial light and do it again. I sometimes comes back to photos months later and do them again. There is an option to revert to the original which is good and allows the to try again. I did some photos again last night from last summer that I had made a little too light and not enough highlights.

      Thank for visiting.

      29, February 2012 at 9:00 am

  3. Hi Mike, Love this post! The differences between the pictures is fascinating. I especially liked the contrast between the first and last images. I agree with Simon, the last picture is my favorite. Well done, both with the photography and the explanation!

    29, February 2012 at 5:52 pm

  4. Hi Carolyn,

    The more I look at them. the more I like the black and white one but we all have different preferences and change our minds a lot. I hope to go back and do the shots again. I like the weeping willow and whatever that is at the edge of the water. I think those trees are on the north side of that lake and so I might get a better shot of the other side in sunlight. I just noticed there is another lake beyond that one too. It’s not on the map but is on Google maps. I might be in a better mood to explore next time!

    29, February 2012 at 6:36 pm

  5. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Light on the lens « Mike10613's Blog

  6. Pingback: Neodigital Art | technicalities « Mike10613's Blog

  7. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Camera settings « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: Neodigital Art| Spring photos « Mike10613's Blog

  9. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Sketch Art « Mike10613's Blog

  10. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Blue skies « Mike10613's Blog

  11. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Simple editing « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers