This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Simple editing


2011-12-20 13.05.58 (2)

This photograph was taken by Simon James with a Samsung Galaxy smart phone, which shows you don’t need a fancy camera. It was taken in December when the light wasn’t very good, but the white building reflected some light and I made the picture lighter when I edited.

Bewdley Saturday 28 April 2012 (12)

This is a typical picture of the river in England. This was taken by Simon again and it is Bewdley in Shropshire; again I lightened it because it was taken in poor light.

Lighthouse

This is another of Simon’s photos and is a lighthouse. I think it’s near Holyhead, Anglesey. It is in fact South Stack lighthouse.

P1000896 (4)

This is also a picture by Simon James and I would rate this one as art as opposed to just photography. I have edited this one quite a lot.

DSC03085 (2)

I usually make the pictures lighter, but I like this one dark and I did make it even darker than it was originally. The house looks quite spooky!

So what do you think? Neodigital Art is about creating art with digital devices, the digital camera, scanners and of course the computer. Would you like to see these images in an art gallery? There are more amazing blogs on the Home Page and if you would like to comment, as I am sure Simon will; feel free…

14 responses

  1. simon

    Well I am blessed a whole blog dedicated to me. That last picture is of Chirk Castle in Wales. The previous picture is of one of Severn’s bridges.

    1, May 2012 at 2:59 pm

    • Glad you like it, I thought you would moan about the editing! :) This is your 15 minutes of fame!

      1, May 2012 at 6:13 pm

  2. The top one was of Sutton Park at Christmas. and the editing is ok, after all it is art.

    1, May 2012 at 8:46 pm

  3. Yes, the black and white “bridge spanning the water” is particularly lovely. It invites a long pause…so that to me is art. I sure do have mixed results with editing, but I enjoy reading your thoughts. You encourage me to keep trying. Debra

    1, May 2012 at 8:49 pm

    • Hi Debra,

      I tend to edit a lot of pictures and so do it quickly. I tried Photoshop but it took me over an hour. I find adding highlights with Windows live photo gallery is the first thing I’ll do and then contrast. I also find the light on the computer screen makes difference. I can edit in the morning and change it in the evening because I want it lighter or darker. Keep trying and experimenting!

      2, May 2012 at 10:25 am

  4. Hi Mike, These photos are so powerful. Each one seems to tell its own story. I love them all, but I always try to pick a favorite with your Neodigital Art series. The bridge is the one that stays with me somehow. The light in that one is amazing. The brightness in the foreground is such a contrast with the dim light at the other end of the bridge, I wonder what is causing the bright light. My imagination wanders…

    2, May 2012 at 12:21 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I think the light in that picture of the bridge was the sun rising (or setting). I think taking the photograph is mostly about getting the right shot and judging the light. I had no new pictures this week because the light has been so bad with the rain. They declared a drought so this being England it hasn’t stopped raining since! I hope to get much better pictures through this summer and do more buildings and structures.

      Thanks for dropping in… :)

      2, May 2012 at 1:16 pm

  5. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Aging photos « Mike10613's Blog

  6. Pingback: Neodigital Art | extra « Mike10613's Blog

  7. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Making the most of June « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: Neodigital Art | In the summertime « Mike10613's Blog

  9. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Light and colour « Mike10613's Blog

  10. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Monochrome « Mike10613's Blog

  11. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Photons « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 755 other followers