This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Forge Mill


Sandwell Valley and Milky 065

Last week I did photos of various types of transport and you can see more canal photos on a zillion ideas. I went back to the locks and there were two narrow boats negotiating the locks on Sunday afternoon. I used those pictures for today’s blog on a Zillion Ideas. Yesterday, we went to Forge Mill Farm in Sandwell Valley which is the site of a Victorian water mill and now a community owned farm.

Sandwell Valley and Milky 045

I saw an old picture and I think this could have been the mill, a tributary to the river runs close by and that was quite fast flowing yesterday. It’s interesting when you see Victorian buildings to try to discover the history.

Sandwell Valley and Milky 017

Forge Mill lake is close by and provides flood relief for the river. The river was about  6 feet deep, but can go much deeper before it overflows into the lake.

Sandwell Valley and Milky 021

Here you can see the lake on the left, the canalised section of the river Tame and on the right beyond those trees is the farm. It was very cloudy and there was a black cloud to my right; the sun was behind that!

Sandwell Valley and Milky 063

This is the farm again and a popular place to sit and enjoy an ice cream on a summer’s day. There are lots of places to enjoy your own picnic too, so it’s well worth visiting on a summer afternoon.

Are these pictures art? It depends how much you enjoy looking at them. I wouldn’t use these for an exhibition, but I have taken some really great pictures here that I would use. The light was a little challenging  yesterday though, but with a digital camera, you take the shot, if it doesn’t work; you only lose the time it took to press the shutter. There is a another Neodigital art blog on a Zillion Ideas with new canal pictures. Please subscribe to that blog and comment.

15 responses

  1. Hey there! The Dark Globe follower appreciation post sent me here, and I just wanted to say hello! :) And I really like these pictures. It looks like such a beautiful, peaceful area.

    20, June 2012 at 1:18 am

    • Hi Paige,

      It is a nice area to walk around. We haven’t been very lucky with the weather and we had poor light for these pictures. In England we have to take good weather with bad. The rain does make for green trees and we do get warm weather some times! It is forecast to go to 20C later today and so I might be out taking more photos!

      Thanks for visiting, I shall have to pop over to the Dark Globe site and take a look.

      20, June 2012 at 9:56 am

  2. Hi Mike, love the pics! My favourite this week is the first one. The way the cart and the buildings are set in the picture seems to draw me in. I think that’s art!

    Great point about only losing the time it takes to press the shutter with a digital camera. For those of us who were accustomed to film cameras, it’s easy to forget that your mistakes are easily erased. How many shots do you typically take of a scene to get the right one?

    Off to Zillion Ideas!

    21, June 2012 at 7:03 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      We went into the farm shop this time and I took a couple of pictures in there. There was a picture on the wall of the old water mill and I think that is the building in the second picture.

      I like that cart too, I photograph that from different angles every time I go there. It can be difficult there to get the shots without someone wandering into the shot or something undesirable in the shot. That one worked quite well.

      The number of shots depends. I mostly took one or two that day. Yesterday, the weather as awful and I set the camera on a slow speed and continuous shoot and Simon took a lot of pictures.He took several every time he pressed the shutter. We call that paparazzi mode! I think we got two reasonable pictures!

      The card holds about 500 pictures and I often take over 100 in an afternoon. It takes time to go through them all and edit, but I often delete lots just because the light was bad. Some poor shots come out god in editing though.

      I was hoping to take pictures of historic vehicles near there, but the show has been cancelled yet again, because of the weather.

      Thanks for visiting. I have more pictures from Sandwell Valley to use next week. We might get a little sun before then though! :)

      22, June 2012 at 10:56 am

  3. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Light and colour « Mike10613's Blog

  4. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Monochrome « Mike10613's Blog

  5. Pingback: This week in blogs « Mike10613's Blog

  6. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Photons « Mike10613's Blog

  7. Pingback: Neodigital Art | The Black Country « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: This week–the sun came out « Mike10613's Blog

  9. Pingback: Neodigital Art | angles and depth « Mike10613's Blog

  10. Pingback: Random thoughts « Mike10613's Blog

  11. Pingback: The weeks review « Mike10613's Blog

  12. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Problems « Mike10613's Blog

  13. Pingback: Neodigital Art | depth of field « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 866 other followers