This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Photons


July first 014

Photons are little bundles of energy that we call light. They come from the sun (when we aren’t making our own), bounce around and get reflected off everything. They bounce around rather like a ball bounces off different surfaces, some surfaces make a ball bounce fast if it’s hard, soft surfaces slow it down. Light gets absorbed by dark colours and reflected more by light colours. You can see where it is being reflected most in this picture, by the lighter colours. Now why is the green and foliage so dark in the foreground?

When I took the photo in the picture there were trees behind me, shading the ones in the foreground. They are darker as a result and the foreground is in silhouette to the lighter sky and water.  The sky is light blue with white clouds and is reflecting light downwards onto the lake and the trees; which in turn reflect light back to the camera. The lighter colours are reflecting more light. Notice that the water takes on the same colour as the sky, blue with white clouds.

THURSDAY RAIN 003

It was raining, the day I took this one. There isn’t much light and no direct sunlight. The light that we have was coming through a cloud and then reflected off more clouds. There is a lot of white in the picture and  the colours look dull.

July first 021

This is the same place and the light is still difficult, a white sky again. I took this from the tow path and the angle gives me a more interesting picture. When the light is bad, I find buildings and structures often reflect light better. Much of the green in this picture is absorbing the light, the tow path being man-made is reflecting more light.

July first 048

The light was better when I took this shot and although black doesn’t reflect light well, the bridge contrasts against the white sky. I was trying to get a good contrast and silhouette the bridge against the sky. I have a little of the wall in the foreground for depth and the bridge going away from us also gives the picture a lot of depth. The bridge looks more imposing the closer that you get to it. Most of the light is reflected from the sky because the sun was in front of me. I want to capture the reflections with my camera, but I don’t want light going directly into the lens from the sun. I will have another post about this subject on a Zillion Ideas later, so please check that out. The older post are worth looking at too.

9 responses

  1. Hi Mike, Your perspectives are always so interesting to me! I would never think to take pictures at the angles you use, but your images are so artistic. Does this perspective come naturally to you or did you study it?

    I will have to pay more attention to light. I have photos on my blog today. I thought of you when I took them to test the phone I reviewed. I tried to get some perspective.

    11, July 2012 at 4:36 pm

  2. Hi Carolyn,

    Most phones have a reasonably decent camera now, but don;t have such a good zoom. I only use my zoom for ducks and things though. I do look at perspective, but I did unusual angles from the start. I don’t like the symmetry most people go for. I like the bridge picture because it’s unusual; anything unusual is good. I dislike pictures of beaches, I have lots!

    11, July 2012 at 5:52 pm

  3. You’re right, I haven’t noticed much symmetry in your photos, perhaps that’s why I find the perspective so powerful?

    I love beach pictures. I have lots too and they transport me to tranquil places! :-)

    12, July 2012 at 12:34 pm

    • The second picture is more symmetrical, but I think the same bridge from the tow path looks better. I have a lot of postcards to scan, may quite old. My grandfather started the collection in WW1. Lots of beaches!

      12, July 2012 at 1:24 pm

  4. So are you going to be putting your grandfather’s beach pictures on the blog? Perhaps your talents for photography run in the family!

    I think taking beach pictures is tough because there is sand and water. Making it interesting is the challenge. When I was taking my beach pictures for my phone review, I thought about giving a different perspective (keeping your lessons in mind!) so I included a dune and sea grass. I can’t add people so it’s limiting. Yet so much artwork I see that I like is of beach pictures, so do you have any ideas of how to make beach pictures more interesting?

    Perhaps that could be a blog post idea! :-D

    12, July 2012 at 6:21 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      A lot of people take pictures of the beach, sunsets and the sky. I read once that a photo library had lost of those pictures and they said don;t send pictures of the sky or sunsets until the Eiffel tower is in the foreground! i think the same applies to beach pictures, the beach would make a good background, if you have an interesting foreground. Boats are good, even a vintage deckchair. I would like to take a picture of Victorian beach huts for example.

      My grandfather just sent postcards back from the war. My cousin was a photographer though and i understand his photos are now in a archive at a library somewhere.

      I shall have to scan the postcards. I did a few old pictures and put on Facebook. I did one of my great grandmother!

      12, July 2012 at 6:44 pm

  5. Pingback: This week, it rained–again « Mike10613's Blog

  6. Pingback: Neodigital Art | angles and depth « Mike10613's Blog

  7. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Seasons and light « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 930 other followers