This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art: Update Four


Neodigital Art - A church can look spectacular

My first picture is in silhouette and I altered a few attributes on the photograph to get that effect. In Windows Live Photo Gallery click ‘edit’ at the top of the screen and it’s brings up a lot of editing tools. You need more control and so click fine tune and some useful tools are on the right of the screen.

Many photographs have muted colours and you can adjust the contrast up to make them less muted. You can also increase saturation (under the colour tab). If you want a quick result then look at the histogram; there are two sliders at the bottom of what looks like a graph. Try sliding the one on the left across and then the one on the right across, slightly. It makes a dramatic difference. You have lots of settings to play with and you can experiment and come up with something artistic and aesthetically pleasing.

Neodigital Art: The light and reflections are important

On this canal picture, the effect is partly the bright sun on the canal under the bridge and I also adjusted the histogram for a dramatic effect. The reflection on the water adds to the visual appeal and I often go to water for interesting photographs. Many photographers spend a lot of time on a shot; I don’t! I want a lot of photographs so I can select the best one and I am always aware of the light and the season. Today the light is improving and I may get good photographs later. I want photographs of buildings and industrial landscapes. I am aware though of the changing season as leaves and blossom come on deciduous trees making for quite spectacular images. I would like to capture those images; they won’t be around for another year. I am much more observant now and remember buildings that I see with the intention of talking the time to photograph them when I have time and I’m close by. There is one building that is interesting because it’s half demolished and supported with timber; it makes for a more interesting image and close by is an unusual Victorian building. I won’t waste fuel going to photograph them especially but next time I go there I’ll remember to get shots of those. Buildings don’t change like nature but they do get demolished or refurbished.

Nature

My last picture was taken in a nature reserve and the colours were very muted. The oranges and reds of winter make for a spectacular picture but it needs the ‘warm’ colours bringing out to make the picture aesthetically more interesting. I want to return to the nature reserve to photograph the colours of Spring; but today I think it may be buildings that we go in search of. This art is as socially inclusive as we can make it. You don’t need an expensive camera or software. My camera was advertised at less than £100 this week and that was a newer version. The Fujifilm S1600 has better definition than mine but I don’t need better; my S1500 is good enough for doing these images.

Neodigital Art: the colours of nature can be muted and they are constantly changing

I start most blogs with an image now and even a cloud in this blog looks like a Close Encounter

Please leave a comment, book mark the page or better still join us and become a Neodigital Artist.

5 responses

  1. Myrna

    Your photography is interesting. I like to use random eye catching images to illustrate my own blog — but my blog is on syndicated articles publicity so I am never sure of what I will use before I start writing.

    Thanks for the photography tutorial.

    Myrna Greenhut

    7, April 2011 at 3:32 am

  2. Pingback: Social Media – Cascading the portals « Mike10613's Blog

  3. Pingback: Social Media – career enhancement « Mike10613's Blog

  4. Pingback: How to Blog « Mike10613's Blog

  5. That is very instructional piece!!

    4, December 2011 at 5:46 pm

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 755 other followers