This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Update Twelve


SUNDAY 1 027

I have so many good photographs of the lake from last Sunday, it was difficult to choose one. The light was perfect and I got the reflections of the clouds on the water and the waves give an effect that looks like the brush strokes of an artist. I often get a ‘washed out’ look to photographs and this certainly isn’t like that. The difference is the light, the weather was hot and the skies blue and reasonably clear. The other difference was I was alone this time and started earlier.  The sun was still high in the sky, the pictures I took later at Moorcroft wood were darker and the sun was not only lower but also obscured in many photographs by the wood. My only reservation about this one is it’s a little too good, like a picture of someone that has been altered with Photoshop to perfection. It’s the imperfections that make a photograph interesting!

Smile

Porthmadoc Dawn, 27 September 2008

This photograph was taken by Simon James and is more typical of Neodigital Art because it’s been altered quite a lot.  The rocks in the foreground blend nicely with my black background. This was taken in poor light near to sunset but the light gives a good effect and is reflected well on the water.

Walsall Friday 17 June 2011 (14)

This is another photograph by Simon James and I cropped a lot off it to get the effect I wanted. It is modern buildings but taken from a very unusual angle and it was actually out of the window of an art gallery.

Smile

Art 1

I’ve saved the best until last! I took this opposite the hospital yesterday. I had taken the shot before but the picture was accidentally deleted. I have had this shot in mind ever since. The building has been partly demolished and has bricked up windows and buttress supports. I moved the sliders on the histogram to get the effect I wanted. The textures and colours make it really interesting. This isn’t Photoshop perfect but amazing in it imperfection.

Smile

You might like to read some other blogs like Don’t worry, it will be fine, that I posted yesterday; that shows a photo of the hospital over road from where I took this photograph. Another Sunday ramble also had a nice photograph of the lodge at East Park in Wolverhampton. Need or greed has a photograph of the lake in the picture that I started this blog with but it’s a very different picture. You can also check out the home page for all the blogs.


Get Follow Me Buttons

9 responses

  1. Dear Mike J Maynard ,

    Thanks for sharing so many amazing photos with us!Thanks!
    I think the first one attracts me most as I love the peace lake with green trees as well as white clouds.What a wonderful view for people to relax and imagine!Cheers!

    30, June 2011 at 8:15 am

  2. Hi,

    Thanks for visiting. The lake did look amazing this week with perfect light. I might go back and try to get more photographs from different locations while the weather and light is so good.

    30, June 2011 at 8:27 am

  3. You’re right, Mike, the first picture is almost too perfect, but I really appreciate it. The reflection of the sky and clouds in the water is captivating. Each of these pictures I would enjoy, but your explanations really help me to understand why I liked each one so much.

    Great post!!

    30, June 2011 at 3:22 pm

  4. Hi Carolyn,

    I took some yesterday and experimented with the light and so I can write about that next week. It is much better if the light isn’t on the camera lens and i blocked it out on a lot of pictures yesterday but the light wasn’t so good, so I’ll check that out on a really good day too. Thanks for the mentions on LinkedIn and Twitter.

    30, June 2011 at 3:31 pm

  5. Hey,

    It’s me,ricelin again.
    I just wanna know that when will you update your article?As I am looking forward to reading some and enjoy more!Thanks!

    1, July 2011 at 6:48 am

  6. Hi,

    Thanks for visiting again. I update every week usually on a Tuesday or Wednesday. You can subscribe then the blog is emailed to you. Thanks for the comment about Chinese fortune telling. It was filtered out by the spam control thing; but I have found it now and approved it. It may have been because it was a very short comment. I try to use the best pictures on this blog but start most of my blogs with a picture now. Today is Frugal Friday and over the weekend I’ll do some general blogs and today I write the Farmville blog! You might like the blog i wrote that I entitled Chinese ambitions, I featured Faye who is a student at Xiaogan university. I think it’s on the Home page but you may have to go to previous posts.

    Thanks again… :P

    1, July 2011 at 9:31 am

  7. Hey…Your photos are amazing. Recently, I went to a lake in India at 6 am. It was so beautiful and calm. People were enjoying the quietness and the rise of the sun. It was too beautiful. Love your picture of the lake. It just captures the right moments. I just started using Photoshop but just for fun with pictures I took with my family. Will look forward to more pictures from you.

    Neha.

    6, July 2011 at 7:09 pm

  8. Hi Neha,

    I just use Windows Live photo gallery because I want people to find it easy and inexpensive to change photographs and make them artistic. I like that lake but all my photographs from that day look alike – all too perfect. I wish I had walked around the lake and took more pictures from different angles while the light was so perfect! It’s not far away and a favourite place and so I can go back; I hope I get the light like that again!

    Thanks for visiting…

    6, July 2011 at 7:27 pm

  9. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 20 « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers