This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Update 21


pylons in black and white

Black and White

It poured with rain on Friday and when it stopped we took a few photographs, this one shows the effect of bad light and a suitable subject. This was a demolition site and the water adds to the effect. I also did a sepia version of this photograph, but the black and white seemed to work better. As usual, I used Windows Live photo gallery for the editing.

Spooky sepia

Sepia

I chose sepia for this shot and the stark industrial landscape of the demolished factories contrasts against the church in silhouette. The trees add to the contrasting effect and the electricity pylons silhouette against the sky. It’s not pretty but unusual!

RAIN 024

Giving a picture warmth

Over the road from the demolition site is this path leading to a canal, it looks intriguing and I like these railings in black and white. I added contrast to this photograph when I was editing and a little ‘warmth’. Adding ‘warmth’ adds reds, if you send the slider the other way it makes the picture ‘colder’ by adding blues.

RAIN 033

Steps

I like photographing steps, they go away from us and appear narrower as they do; giving the picture depth without anything in the foreground. The railing too adds to the effect. These pictures aren’t too bad for a very wet and dull Friday, which shows that although we hope for good light, we can take some spooky pictures in bad weather; even though keeping rain off the lens of the camera can be challenging!

You can find more blogs to read on my Home Page. You can also comment, subscribe or follow me on Twitter for updates!

Smile

 

11 responses

  1. Bren

    Hi Mike. These shots show some artistic merit. I know youre fond of frugality and youre also aware of false economy…heres my tip..get Photoshop Elements as ur image editor. It does just about everything its big brother does, but for around seventy quid…when u get fed up of going out in the rain, you can enjoy the joys of editing….and if you get really good, u can do other image editing stuff and maybe make a few bob. I do mine for charity, but I dont half enjoy it.Keep shooting and posting matey.

    1, September 2011 at 12:28 am

    • Hi Bren,

      One of the reasons I don’t use PhotoShop is it’s complicated and I wanted to make this art something everyone with a computer could do without spending a lot of money. Thanks for the tips about PhotoShop Elements though. I am getting good at this stuff and so was thinking about lenses which are expensive; I want a macro lens, wide angle and infra red, which would cost about what PhotoShop Elements would cost! I’ll enquire about an anaesthetic; I’ll need one if I’m going to spend money!
      :P

      1, September 2011 at 8:42 am

  2. Wow, powerful pictures! The first one looks like the opening scene in a post-Apocalyptic film. The other pictures are interesting too. I didn’t know what makes pictures warmer or cooler, that was really interesting.

    Amazing how you have so many different styles and they all work so well.

    1, September 2011 at 1:59 am

    • There are a few sliders to use on Windows Live Photo gallery and one simply adds reds if you slide one way and blues if you slide the other way. I used a more complex program but I tended to overdo things, I’m more subtle now! I don’t do blue churches any more! Not all pictures lend themselves to black and white or sepia, I think buildings and industrial landscapes do. This area will be housing next year and boring so I have to get the shots while I can. I did some of another demolition site and that will be a huge enterprise zone soon. I did some of a large railway station and goods yard and they weren’t so good in poor light. I had railway lines, a river and the motorway running along side but not great pictures.

      The light is great today at 8am, will it be great after I wake up? :)

      1, September 2011 at 8:48 am

  3. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 23 « Mike10613's Blog

  4. Bren

    Hi Mike. always good to read ur stuff. Im interested as to where u are gonna get those three lenses for seventy quid, and what camera you have that fits them.
    Thanks B ;)

    16, September 2011 at 8:32 pm

  5. Hi Brendan,

    My camera is a Fujifim S5600, I’m thinking of getting these lenses – http://www.digitaltoyshop.co.uk/Accessories_Fuji_FinePix_S5600_t615

    I can’t decide, Photoshop elements, better lenses or use my cahs for a better camera! I am tempted by everything, but need an anaesthetic to part with cash! :)

    You were going to send me some of your pictures to use. I would like to see them.

    I’m getting an idea of what I want now. I really like my photographs of woodland, Victorian buildings, farm buildings and some nature pictures with a close depth of field and wide aperture, I’m working on this last one.

    I would like your opinion on this picture and the others in the album – http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150372851963764&set=a.85641608763.100681.689503763&type=1&theater :P

    16, September 2011 at 9:09 pm

    • I’m getting lenses and filters mixed up! Some difference to me, I never know what I’m doing! :)

      16, September 2011 at 9:14 pm

  6. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 24 « Mike10613's Blog

  7. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 25 « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Update 28 « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 757 other followers