This site is English – get used to it…

Happy New Year 2012


Happy New Year

It’s that time of year again when we reflect on the past year and makes plans for the new year about to begin. So what are your new year’s resolutions? Some people want to save more money, lose weight, work harder, be nicer to people or even travel to exotic places.

If you want to lose weight then cut down on carbohydrates and fats. You do tend to become hungry though and that’s why it’s hard to stick to a diet. Try eating healthier too by adding lots of fruit and vegetables. The extra fibre in your diet will be healthy and stop you feeling so hungry. Take a little trouble cooking your meals and not only make them taste nice but look nice too. A nice gourmet salad made with prawns is not too expensive and tastes delicious; it’s also low calorie. Baked potato with vegetables is high fibre and low calorie. Be careful of processed foods many have added fat and sugar.

I started the year a little slow as far as my blog went, but was soon writing a post nearly everyday and my page views went up to five figures. I want a new blog on my own webspace in 2012. I’m also considering a  holiday. I shall take lots of photographs for my blogs, of course. I am thinking about doing more gardening and maybe growing vegetables, I say this every year and don’t get around to doing it! I asked one of the students I talk to in China if they make New Year resolutions and they don’t, but I might have started a new trend. I shall continue to help those students in 2012 and it seems like they will probably come to England later in the year to study. That will be interesting!  I’ll also think about having a summer barbecue for my family, I’ll see how the weather develops as the year goes on.

I intend to be thrifty and frugal and save money; I might buy a sat nav for the car but have no major purchases planned. I do want to invest more money in stocks and shares and I’ll write blogs about that. The stock market appears to have more sellers than buyers and prices seem low but we shall have to see. Prices were going up but have dropped again over the past year. There is often a lot of buying on the first trading day of the new year, I’ll watch with interest. People seem to like my psychology blogs and I have one half written to post this week. I was going to post that today but a New Year’s Eve blog seemed to be more appropriate. I’ll save psychology for Monday! I definitely need to write more humour, I have become far too serious!

I hope you all enjoy celebrating tonight and I hope you all have a Happy New year.  There are more amazing blogs on my Home Page. Do comment and tell me what your resolutions are for 2012?

3 responses

  1. Happy New Year, Mike! Thanks for enriching my 2011 in many ways with your beautiful photography, yummy recipes and sage advice.

    I wish you the very best in 2012!

    31, December 2011 at 5:31 pm

  2. Hi Carolyn,

    I wish you a happy New Year too. I shall be starting the year with spicy chicken stew, I cooked it today with Chinese 5 spice; Yummy!

    I predict before 2012 is out people will be talking to smart televisions using smart phones; maybe they already do?

    31, December 2011 at 5:40 pm

  3. Pingback: 2012 | Day One « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

