This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty shopping | Clothes


LUGGAGE

Matalan

The case in the picture I bought from Matalan. I think the price of £19 was good and even better when I used my voucher to get 20% off!  I bought a few things before Christmas like tee shirts and filled in a form at the checkout for a Matalan card and they not only sent me a card but a 20% off voucher! I’ll get comments about my armchairs now or my carpet; that picture was taken in my living room. I couldn’t think where else to take it!

Smile with tongue out

I thought about some new cushions with a union flag on in Matalan, I wish I had bought them now looking at that photo! I did get that suitcase and it only cost £15.20 with the 20% off. I also got a couple of Tee shirts for £4.00 each less 20% and paid £3.20 for those. I also had some boxer shorts, I usually have expensive ones but those were 3 for £9.00. I had my 20% off those and saved £1.80. I think I got  bargain for £7.20. The stitching on the waistband isn’t quite as good as on the expensive ones I usually have, but this isn’t a problem!

Energy costs

The energy suppliers have cut their prices. I suspect someone had a word with them and uttered a  dirty word ‘regulation’! The price increases last year did tend to drive the economy closer to full blown recession. We can’t pay exorbitant energy prices and spend in the shops can we?

The details:

British Gas:  average 5% off  electricity prices. Immediate effect.

Npower:   average 5% off gas prices from 1st of February.

EDF Energy:  average of 5% off gas prices from the 7th of February.

E.on:   average of 6% off electricity prices from the 27th of February.

Scottish Power:  average of 5% off gas prices from the 27th of February.

SSE:   average of 4% off electricity prices from the 26th of March.

Most people will gain most with the reduction in gas prices and so no prizes to those companies that cut the price of electricity. You won’t benefit if you are on a fixed price contract either. I’m on a tariff that is about 12% lower than Scottish Power’s standard tariff and so I’ll save a little. I think maybe £25; every little helps…

Smile

£7.20 off at Matalan and £25 off my gas bill; I am doing well. Those shares I bought in Premier foods at 4p are 12% up this morning at 7.83p. I wish all my investments did so well; every little helps…

Smile with tongue out

Tomorrow’s frugal blog will be about internet freebies; I might read that myself! In the meantime there are more amazing blogs on my Home Page. Please comment and share with your friends on Facebook.

 

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Finance Friday | Living for tomorrow « Mike10613's Blog

  2. Pingback: Thrifty | Food and essentials « Mike10613's Blog

  3. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where
    I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

    3, May 2013 at 1:51 am

    • Hi Shani,

      Check the WordPress store. I hate captchas, I can never read them. I approve my comments, assuming they get through the spam filter.

      3, May 2013 at 8:48 am

Please share your thoughts here:

