This site is English – get used to it…

Spring has sprung…


PIX 2 044+

The Vernal Equinox

It was the Vernal Equinox this week which heralds the start of Spring in the Northern hemisphere. It’s time to start thinking about the garden. My readers in Australia will also have an equinox but theirs will herald the start of Autumn. I have two apple trees in my garden and I bought a ladder last year so I can pick the apples. I’m getting more an more apples, I think it’s because I buried the dog under the one tree. If I tweet something about the body under the apple tree, the police come around in Spring and dig all my garden for me…

The chief executive of Sandwell Council is now making his blog available just to council employees. You may remember I left a comment a couple of weeks ago on his WordPress blog. I wonder what he has to hide? Maybe, they are planning speed humps and other stupidity on the West Brom Expressway? That guy does have a National General Certificate in Safety and Health (Distinction) and so is into health and safety. On the subject of speed humps I have just checked the weather forecast. It says it might go up to 18C this afternoon. On my weather forecast email they also have a ‘Grandmother used to say’ bit. Today it is Grandmother used to say, ‘Every path has its puddle.’ Not quite true of course, but there is frequently a puddle outside my house since my neighbour had a drive done. You can’t just have a drive done, you have to have the contractor approved by the council . My neighbour had to pay £1,200 and wait 12 months for the contractor Strave-con to come and put a bit of tarmac from the road to his newly block-paved from garden. It wasn’t very even and now we have a puddle every time it rains; a bloody big puddle. Stave-con also put that bloody great hump across the top of my street and humps and stupidity all around here. They do those stupid little roundabouts that people ignore and drive over everywhere too. I nearly forgot they also extend pavements out into the road and create chicanes, just to make driving a little more interesting. 

If you plant 10 rows of lettuce 10 deep, that’s 100 lettuces and they don’t take up much room. Lettuces cost 80p each and so that’s £80 worth of lettuce that you can grow in a little bit of garden! You could exchange some of them for tomatoes, cucumbers and stuff and then you have a salad! It’s worth thinking about growing salad, runner beans and maybe having a herb garden; it would be good exercise and save you a few quid. There are a few bargains about, if you need plants and seed. I have a basil plant I bought last week in Aldi on my windowsill, I might plant that in the garden. Fresh basil in this week’s chicken stew made all the difference. We can start thinking about barbecues with fresh salad in summer. Garden parties with cucumber sandwiches; perhaps not, we’re not that posh in the Black Country…

The difference between sunrise and sunset at the vernal equinox is about 12 hours and so we should start to see lighter evenings now and the clocks go forward an hour on Sunday. I am not a fan of British Summer time but it will stay light later into the evening. I will also get better light for my photography in the afternoon.

I shall be getting out taking photographs and visiting local nature reserves like Moorcroft Wood, Merrion’s Wood and Sandwell Valley through the summer. There are some at Dudley too like Sheepwash and Wren’s Nest. I also hope to visit the Black Country Living museum this summer and take a few photos.

What are you going to do this summer? Please comment and share you plans.

There are more amazing blogs on the Home Page.

 

14 responses

  1. Thank you for the ping-back, Mike.

    24, March 2012 at 5:06 pm

    • No problem, you might have one on my other site too! 🙂

      24, March 2012 at 6:06 pm

  2. I love this time of year and seem to feel better with a little more sunlight. I planted tomatoes and squash this weekend, and hope to continue planting over the next few weeks. I feel inspired when spring hits, but sometimes have a difficult time maintaining that enthusiasm all summer long. We don’t have huge plans this summer–in fact, I’m hoping we somehow end up having more time just at home. I’d like to enjoy home and slow down a bit! Debra

    25, March 2012 at 4:26 am

    • Hi Debra,

      I’m not well enough to do the garden or even mow the lawn any more, but I’ll welcome lighter nights. Life seems to short to spend too much time in the garden, I want to get out and take photos! If I can grow a few things in the garden and keep the weeds down I’ll be happy. We put our clocks forward in the UK early this morning. I was wondering why I can’t wake up this morning! the sun’s shining and it should stay light later this evening so a longer day!

      Enjoy summer, it seems over all too quickly!

      25, March 2012 at 7:40 am

  3. Pingback: Sunday lunch ramble « Mike10613's Blog

  4. Pingback: Digital Easter « Mike10613's Blog

  5. Pingback: A Zillion Ideas and counting…

  6. Pingback: Writer’s block « Mike10613's Blog

  7. Pingback: A different pace of life… « Mike10613's Blog

  8. Pingback: One of those days… « Mike10613's Blog

  9. Pingback: Frugal Friday | Grow your own « Mike10613's Blog

  10. Pingback: Bluebells and Buttercups. « Mike10613's Blog

  11. Pingback: The Black Country Rain Dance « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

