This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Camera settings


Keyway 070

Landscape

I set my camera on landscape for this shot and so the aperture would be narrow and speed would be fast. The light was really bright and so we can get a really good shot.

Keyway 066

Speed

The camera is automatically adjusting the speed for a faster speed and the balloon is moving and so the fast speed stops blur. More importantly, the duck that flew into the shot isn’t blurred either.  I know it looks like a flying saucer!

Keyway 075

Circus

We have the Chinese circus in town and the next town had the American circus and so we stopped to take a few photos! The parking was difficult and so we couldn’t stay too long.

Keyway 079

Sometimes, taking shots of signs or even the rear end of a truck makes for a good shot! This was at Walsall arboretum.

Keyway 106

The light interested me here and so I held my camera over a fence and took a few shots under the motorway. This was after about 10 shots and 106th shot of the afternoon!

Keyway 140

Back at the lake the sun was going down and so the light was very different. It was still bright but shadows were everywhere.

Keyway 145 (2)
When it’s getting dark, you get less light going into the camera and so you can use a dark setting. To get depth of field you need a narrow aperture for landscape that lets in less light. I set the camera on S for speed and then set a slow speed. On a slow speed you need to keep the camera still and press the shutter button gently. With some editing I managed to get the trees silhouette against the sky.

On that setting, speed takes priority and the camera sets the aperture to suit the speed. If the speed is too fast the aperture shows red on my camera and so I select a slower speed. This picture was lighter and I made it darker when I edited. If the street lights were on, it wouldn’t have been so good.
If you have enjoyed this Neodigital Art blog, I posted another one with different photos from Sunday on A Zillion Ideas; why not pop over and take a look.

6 responses

  1. Hi Mike, What great pictures this week! But I could say that every week. 🙂

    I loved the circus pictures. Is an English circus different from an American circus?

    Back to photography, I really loved the evening picture too. It really set the mood.

    I never would have thought to take a picture under the motorway but it’s a very cool picture.

    27, March 2012 at 7:07 pm

  2. Hi Carolyn,

    I don’t know about the circus, we didn’t go in! The last time I went to the circus I was a child, I remember it was very smelly…

    That last picture I made a little darker to get the sunset.The only really good place we went for the sunset, I can’t stop my car. Simon took one out of the car window. I haven’t seen it yet.

    The motorway picture was hard, it was next to a park and the light was shining through. It took about 6 attempts because I had to hold the camera over a fence!

    I took over 100 photos on one afternoon. Glad we have better light, it will keep improving now until the equinox in June.

    27, March 2012 at 9:42 pm

  3. Great shots!! I love every single one.

    28, March 2012 at 7:02 pm

    • Hi,

      Thanks, we had good light; it’s been like summer today! 🙂

      28, March 2012 at 10:56 pm

      • Same here, finally up in the 60’s! YAYAYAYAYYA I am SO ready. 🙂

        29, March 2012 at 6:47 am

  4. Yes, it seems a lot of countries have weird weather! It is saving us a little money on heating bills!

    29, March 2012 at 7:41 am

Please share your thoughts here:

