This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Monochrome doesn’t always mean black and white


WODEN new mono

We are used to seeing things in colour and occasionally in black and white. When we see a picture like this, we tend to think colour, but it is in fact monochrome. I converted it to mono using PhotoScape, it’s a freeware program. I also added the lens flare using PhotoScape. The sun was actually behind me!

The Milky Pool MONO

You can get some interesting effects using monochrome, they can be subtle or more dramatic.

The Sanna edit

I used the colorize option on PhotoScape for this picture and I also clicked sharpen. That gave the picture more texture.

All Saints Moxley

I used a few effects on this picture with quite powerful results. I have done a blog on these effects today on a zillion ideas. Why not pop over there and check that out if you want to edit you photos into art with PhotoScape. I’ve covered lots of the PhotoScape options, including colorize, zoom-blur and fish eye. Got a good picture? Why not send it in to me and I’ll feature it on a zillion ideas. Just attach it to an email and send it to the address in the sidebar.

5 responses

  1. Hi Mike, Although I love the bottom picture, I’m voting for picture #2 today. I feel as if I already voted for the bottom picture over the weekend.

    Picture number 2 almost has a greenish cast to it, doesn’t it? That mood is very strong to me.

    Tomorrow I am publishing an article about photo editing. I was afraid that we would be covering the same topic, but mine is very different. I will be very curious about your opinion. 🙂

    28, November 2012 at 2:25 am

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I think all the picture have something. The monochrome works well. The last one is powerful, because it’s unusual. The contrast between the All Saints Church and the industrial demolition site is striking in mono. My friend wasn’t impressed when I wanted to photograph that the first time because Moorcroft Wood is right over the road! The pictures have been some of the most striking though.

      Green, yellow and blue, seem to be the best colours for mono as well as black and white. It can be very effective to scan an old photograph and add a tint to it.

      I just looked out of the window, Sunshine! It crept up on me… It would be a good day for photography, I’m in a creative mood!

      I’ll check out your blog today on editing. There are some new smart phone apps out. CNET reviewed some and I saw some cool reviews on TV. I like the new Samsung camera that has Android built in, that’s smart…

      28, November 2012 at 9:10 am

  2. Pingback: A week of nostalgia « Mike10613's Blog

  3. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Editing for art « Mike10613's Blog

  4. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Editing landscapes. « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

