This site is English – get used to it…

Merry Christmas 2012


Merry Xmas 3

It’s Christmas Day and I’m still writing. The weather isn’t very seasonal, it’s still raining. I think 2012 will be known as the year the rains came. I have a busy day ahead, turkey to cook and a buffet for guests to prepare. I hope you have found my blogs interesting through this year. I haven’t finished yet!

This blog will be syndicated through the YamYam as many other have been this year. The YamYam is a local news site that syndicates news and blogs from the Black Country. I just photograph the Black Country and share the pictures with the world! The Black Country was an important industrial area, but even then there was deprivation. Much of the industry has gone, but the deprivation remains. There are no palaces to visit, no beefeaters, no stock market, no important financial centre, no mansions and the nearest beach is a hundred miles away. We do have the canals and a the river Tame. But what does it all matter? People count more than things.

That’s what Christmas should be about, people, not things. I saw lots of people queuing for the supermarkets and people who were still working needed to do a little shopping yesterday and couldn’t because the greedy can never get enough. We are in a recession because of that greed and people still haven’t learnt anything. Cameron and Osborne are the greediest of all. They need to read Dickens’s Christmas story. I think they might identify more with the Muppet version however.

There have been some bright spots this Christmas. Some people have been enjoying the carols and the Christmas music. The BBC is putting a movie on, appropriately enough it’s from 60 years ago and it’s Singin’ in the Rain (1952). They’ll be showing the Queen’s speech, while over on ITV there will be Toy Story and Wonga adverts for those who spent a bit too much on toys. There’s an ‘Only Fools and Horses’ on BBC1. I  thought the Beeb had sold those off years ago. I watched Open all Hours and Porridge last night with Ronnie Barker. Remember, in those days they could make us laugh without resorting to profanity or crude jokes. They can’t really put Mrs Brown’s Boys on for Christmas Day afternoon. Can they? It might upset the vicar…

I’ve been a bit nostalgic, remembering what I had in my Christmas stocking as a child. I’ve been making one up. Remember the mice made from sugar and the tangerines? Time for a another picture…

GARDEN SNOW

That was the view from my bedroom window, one morning in December 2010. There are some people that want a white Christmas this year. In England, we call them the ‘stupid people’. No one will be going very far today anyway, there are no trains or buses. So why mess up the roads with snow?

Anyway, enjoy your Christmas lunch or dinner, whatever you have planned. Enjoy the company of friends and family. There might be other Christmases, but this one will never come again, so don’t waste it. Get into the Christmas spirit. I even bought nuts for the squirrel who visits my garden.

You can also read my Christmas story, just click that link. It’s not very long and it’s been getting quite good reviews. If you feel a bit of a Scrooge, that’s alright, because it’s free!

Merry Christmas

4 responses

  1. Happy Christmas, Mike. Enjoy the company of your guests. Ours have just gone, but more tomorrow. Sorry I’ve been absent with my reading, so much has happened this year. I wonder what 2013 has in store. Keep up the good work. 😉

    25, December 2012 at 8:45 pm

    • Hi Myfanwy,

      I did a buffet earlier and beat all my guests at Yahtzee. 🙂 I think 2013 could be interesting. I think there could be a revolt against materialism and consumerism. We have to do something, my gas and electric bills are looking like the National debt! Have a Happy New Year anyway…

      25, December 2012 at 9:30 pm

      • We’ll be eating air soon….. Keep your chin up!

        25, December 2012 at 11:01 pm

  2. Pingback: Greed or sustainability? « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

