This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty sale time


Aldi

The super-six at Aldi this week are sprouts (500g), carrots (1Kg) and parsnips (500g) are all at 39p and the Maris Piper potatoes (1.5Kg), lemons (6) and clementines or satumas (600g) are all at 69p. The same as last week. I have some shopping to do, so I might look at the today’s special buys this afternoon.

The sales

I haven’t seen any really good sales yet. If you need a large item or really need new clothes, it might be worth looking at the sales. The sales are really designed for people with more money than sense though. I might be tempted to look at the Matalan sale. They have an Antarctic Parka half price. I’m not sure about the colours though. Asda have a sale on clothing too. These shoes are half price at 12.50. They are good, I had some last year. Tesco have a sale too, that could be good for getting next years Christmas cards! They have a got a long coat that I like, but it’s not in the sale! Boundary Mill have a sale too. I can’t see what they have online, which is unfortunate. I might go and take a look, see if I can find a new coat!   BHS has a sale too, but I can’t find anything to get excited about. The Marks and Spencer sale promises up to 50% off. I wasn’t impressed by that sale either. Debenhams have a sale too, but only for 2 days; ends today.

Curry’s have a sale too , if you’re looking for electrical items. There are some nice cameras, but I’m not having one! Argos have a sale too. If you want a basic compact camera, this Nikon is only 37. 99 now.

I haven’t bothered checking the more expensive shops like Harrods… I’ll go and see if Poundland has a sale!

If you know of any other great sales please comment.

5 responses

  1. I haven’t checked Harrods yet either, Mike…… Actually, I don’t think I’ll bother. I remember seeing mention of a small coffee cup one year – it was reduced by 70%. One cup, reduced 70% and priced at the now lower price of £33.00. Saucer was extra…… Bet it worked the same way as one from Aldi! Sadly we don’t have an Aldi nearby….. Have a good shop.

    27, December 2012 at 9:46 am

    • Hi Myfanwy,

      I have Asda and Morrisons a mile away and Aldi and Lidl a couple of miles away! Harrods is a bit out of the way for me! They have magnums of champagne in Aldi, not that I’ll buy anyway. I liked Jamie Oliver’s idea, he put a decent plonk into a Sodastream to make champagne! 🙂

      Enjoy the rest of your Christmas. I’ll go buy another lettuce…

      27, December 2012 at 1:23 pm

  2. A lot of people like the next sale but i think that starts boxing day and the good stuff goes quickly as people queue in the eraly hours, I avoid that shop like the plague during sale time.

    27, December 2012 at 3:26 pm

    • I have never been to Next, not even sure if we have one! I didn’t get out shopping today. I’ll have to go tomorrow not, it’ll be busy. I have visitors on Sunday so have to get drinks and more salad.

      We were learning how to write our names in Chinese on Christmas Day… 🙂

      Thanks for visiting,,,,

      27, December 2012 at 4:25 pm

  3. Pingback: Greed or sustainability? « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

