This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Editing landscapes.


This post was originally published on a zillion ideas on the 1st of January 2013.

LIVE EDIT

I start each blog with a photo and I used this one yesterday. I edited it with Windows Live photo gallery. The sun came out for this one and the blue sky is reflected on the water. The aperture was narrow, so good depth of field, but it wasn’t so good before editing.

ORIGINAL

This is the original. All I did to improve it was to add highlights and contrast.

PHOTOSCAPE EDIT

I did this edit with PhotoScape and it was a similar edit, adding contrast, but the result is different.

COLORIZE EDIT

Finally, I have used the colorize option in PhotoScape for this picture. I think this picture looks more like winter. I still prefer the first edit though. Which one do you like best?

My New Year has begun with sunshine and blue sky. I might be able to take a few photos today. I also have some writers interested in doing guest blogs, so it could be a more interesting year ahead. I hope everyone has a better year in 2013.

7 responses

  1. I don’t edit my photos for the blog, apart from cropping them, that is, but do alter them for design work. I haven’t tried PhotoScape. Must take a look. There are lots of elements in each of the above that I could use for stitching! If you don’t understand what I mean take a look at my 100 steps series. Have a great day, Mike. The sun is shining here too. The promise that life goes on, regardless of everything that’s happening around us.

    1, January 2013 at 11:03 am

    • Hi Myfanwy,

      PhotoScape is freeware and not complicated so give it a try! It turns photos into watercolours and has lot of simple features. I have to go and see if I can buy a new battery for my key fob that turns the car alarm on and off. It could be a nice day for a drive (with the heater on!).

      1, January 2013 at 2:02 pm

  2. Hi Mike, Happy New Year! I definitely like the first edit the best. The blue just draws you in. The colors are more vivid.

    The sky is overcast here. Hoping for sunshine at some point. Did you have the wettest year on record in 2012?

    1, January 2013 at 8:01 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I think these pictures show what editing can do. I was looking at cameras, everywhere I go on the net now, there are adverts for tempting cameras! I can get a discount off one but it includes a cashback I have to claim, I wish they would just drop the price more. I hate messing around. I can’t even get a bank statement at the moment and they wouldn’t answer the phone today.

      The flood plains are flooded now and it was a record year for rain. I don’t mind now, it’s mild for the time of year, save on heating bills!

      I might have some pictures in an online gallery soon and I have more guest writers interested!

      I’m looking forward to tomorrow. I have a theory that certain shares on the London stock market will go up! I hope to make money! I did well in the last 3 months of 2012, but New Years Eve wasn’t good.

      Have a great New Year, I have a few ideas for things to write and new photos!

      1, January 2013 at 9:27 pm

  3. Pingback: The Saturday roundup of posts « Mike10613's Blog

  4. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Changing winter scenes « Mike10613's Blog

  5. Pingback: Neodigital Art | Editing snow photos « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

