This site is English – get used to it…

Taking and editing snow photos


SNOW 2 012

This is what I saw when I opened my bedroom curtains this morning. I did the edit with Windows Live Photo Gallery. If you haven’t edited before, set the program as your default for viewing photos. Right click on a picture, then choose ‘open with’, then select ‘default program; then choose Windows Live Photo Gallery.

Now when you click a photo, it should open for viewing with Windows Live Photo Gallery. Now you can open a photo for editing. Then click at the top of the page where it says ‘edit, organize or share’:

image

Then choose the picture you want to edit. You might have to choose the folder first.  Then you should get editing controls at the side of the page:

image

If those control don’t come up, click ‘fine tune’ at the top of the page:

image

You can see I have moved the controls by moving the sliders, more contrast and brightness and I have changed the colour to add just a touch of blue. With most photos, you can try moving the highlights slider to the left. Want to go really weird? Move the sliders on the histogram!

edit this

Oops, I got the cable to the TV aerial on! I like the tree that looks like a Christmas tree. I’m not sure about the house…

SNOW CROP

It’s easy enough to crop just what you want and experiment until it looks just right. I’ve lost a lot of depth, maybe I need the house on after all?

crop 2

I think I still like the first one the best. The trees silhouette against the sky. Incidentally, if you’re writing something like this and you want part of the screen captured as I’ve done. Snip with Windows 7 snipping tool and then put your cursor into position in you document and paste by pressing ctrl V. Incidentally, bloggers might like to know that last picture was still too light after the edit. I pasted it into Windows Live Writer and saw it was too light and edited again with Live Writer, making it darker and adding a little more contrast.

You can also paste bits of your screen into a email or into Windows Live messenger in the same way. Enough ‘cool’ info for this week, have a go at using Windows Live Photo Gallery for yourself and see what improvements you can make to your photos. Please share your thoughts by using the comment box.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: This weeks blogging review « Mike10613's Blog

  2. I hardly comment, however i did a few searching and wound up here Taking and
    editing snow photos Mike10613’s Blog. And I do have a few questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be only me or does it seem like a few of the remarks look like they are
    left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing
    at additional online sites, I would like to follow everything fresh you have
    to post. Would you list of the complete urls of your public sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    31, January 2013 at 11:41 am

    • Hi,

      There a link to my other site a zillionideas below. In the sidebar is a Facebook badge, click that to see my Timeline. There is also a link to follow me on Twitter. I suppose I need a LinkedIn badge… 🙂

      31, January 2013 at 12:09 pm

Please share your thoughts here:

