This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty Thursday–saving even more money


The super-six at Aldi this week are; savoy cabbage, mild onions (3), beetroot (500g), lemons (3), carrots (1Kg) and broccoli (350g). They are all 39p each. I think I’ll have the broccoli, it is rich in vitamin C. Carrots contain beta carotene which is a double molecule of vitamin A, they’re very good for you too. Lemons are exceptionally high in vitamins C and great for making old fashioned lemonade.

Those three lemons will make about 1.5 litres of lemonade. Cut the lemons up thinly, put them in a jug with about 1/2 a cup of sugar and pour on boiling water. Stir it to dissolve the sugar and then leave it for a while to cool. This lemonade is high in vitamin C and great for a cold, drink it hot or cold. When you’ve finished it add more sugar and boiling water and squeeze a bit more flavour out of it! A couple of paracetamol and a mug full of hot lemonade will make most people feel better. You can strain your finished lemonade. You could even squeeze the lemons and make it out of lemon juice if you’re really posh. Get the maid to do it!

Matalan have sent me a voucher for £5 off if I spend £30. By a spooky coincidence, the coat I was going to look at is £30. Every little helps… I can use the money I saved to buy a couple of new hand towels…

When the snow had nearly finished, my freezer was running out of food. If it had run out, I could have survived on what I had in my food cupboard. People do waste a lot of food though and so make sure you use stuff up before the use by date. Most of the cans in my food cupboard will last longer than me, but they can develop off flavours if kept too long. Maybe when you do your Spring clean, you can check what you have and use some of the stuff that has been in there a while. Having a full food cupboard is great in case of emergencies, like heavy snow, but the stuff does need replacing sometimes. The same applies to some canned beer, it can taste horrible when it’s past it’s use by date. Like it ever lasts that long! 

I’ve tested shower gels this week. The best one was Lacura from Aldi. The Asda one was OK and as good as the one from Lidl, despite being more expensive the Lynx one wasn’t much better. The one I didn’t like was a value one from Morrison’s, it was too thick. I think it was the cheapest though!  I don;t like the deodorants from Lidl or Aldi, I do like the Lynx, but they are expensive. They are 2 for a fiver at the moment from Boots. Unlike Ronseal, it doesn’t quite do what they say on TV…

My weird bargain this week is a blood pressure meter with a free stethoscope, it takes playing doctors and nurses to a whole new level. Available from Amazon UK. While you are there order a silicon nurses fob watch for 50p!

I think low energy light bulbs are bloody useless, you can’t see what you’re doing. This Philips one is 23W and equivalent to a 100W incandescent bulb, but costs £7.40.  They need to start stocking these in supermarkets at a better price. I saw some 8W ones in Aldi which might be OK for decorative purposes, but generally speaking bloody useless. The incandescent ones are still available in Aldi despite being ‘phased out’. I have yet to see any LED ones in the supermarkets.

They do have some 70W halogen bulbs at B & Q, I went down there for a fluorescent tube, I was losing the will to live by the time I’d found it. Then I got lost trying to find my way back to the tills, I’m sure I walked around the place at least three times. If it hadn’t been for using the Christmas trees as a landmark I’d still be in there. They had a Wendy House on the car park once, I parked next to it, so I could find my car when I came out.

Have you spotted a bargain this week? Please share your thoughts in the comment box.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: From psychology to nostalgia « Mike10613's Blog

  2. Pingback: Thrifty Valentines day 2013 « Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

