This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | What is Art?


DUCKS 004

Pictures were drawn by early man, on the walls of caves with whatever he could find. The earliest pictures were probably done with chalk and maybe charcoal. Some artists still use charcoal. Artists tend to be avant garde, the advanced guard, exploring the new frontiers. They search for new ideas and new mediums.

Now we have digital devices to capture, create and manipulate images with. My picture today is of the local Manor House. Art was very different when that was built, but the ideals of the time show in the design of the house.

DUCKS 023

Art is now kept in art galleries like this one.  You can just about see Damien’s Hirst’s sheep, pickled in formaldehyde, in the foreground. Is that art? Andy Warhol said, art is whatever you can get away with. I don’t really subscribe to that view.

DUCKS 038

When I returned home from the art gallery on Sunday, I saw two ducks on my driveway and so I photographed them. Yes, I can get away with using this picture today. But is it art?

TREE

This is a photo that Carolyn over at a wonder of tech sent me. Would this look out of place in an art gallery? I think not.

DUCKS 020

I spotted this picture in the art gallery. I like it. That alone, makes it art…

Please share your thoughts on art in the comments box.

4 responses

  1. Hi MIke, Thanks for the shoutout. I do like that picture of the lone tree. To me it represents the individual withstanding the forces around him. That makes it art, right?

    My favorite picture though is the top one. That brings me right back to England, you captured the charm of the house perfectly!

    Did you do any editing of your pictures this week? The look fabulous, though I’m with you on the sheep. I wouldn’t call that art either!

    15, May 2013 at 4:08 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      All the pictures were edited. I cropped your and added some contrast. I liked the lone bench in that picture of the Manor House. They say it will cost a million pounds to restore that. Many of the windows around the back are boarded up. I think the restoration could be done for less, they always spend too much on restorations. I think buildings should be restored on a continuous basis by local artisans. They tend to leave them until they have fallen to bits and all the artisans have gone.

      I’m trying to review an exhibition now. It hasn’t gone well. I’ll be glad when it’s finished!

      15, May 2013 at 5:06 pm

  2. Pingback: Spring flowers in May | Mike10613's Blog

  3. Pingback: The Wonder of Art | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

