This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Guest pictures and edits


Norfolk Broads Friday 19 April 2013 Windmill

This is a photo that Simon James took on the Norfolk Broads (England) some time ago. I’ve edited it and the main thing was to add contrast. Simon often zooms in too close to the subject, but he has it about right with this photo.

Norfolk Broads Friday 19 April 2013 windmill original

This is the original picture and as you can see, it’s a good picture; but there is not quite so much contrast. One of the main problems with cheaper camera is the lack of contrast, but it can soon be fixed in editing.

Norfolk Broads Friday 19 April 2013 windmill cropped

I decided to crop the same picture. I’ve cropped off some of the green grass at the bottom and it’s made the picture lighter. We can also see the subject of the picture more clearly. The long yellowing grass has come more into the foreground and gives the picture a little more depth. I made this one black and white and that looked quite good too. Budleigh Staunton, Autumn 2010 (10)

This is another photo that Simon took a few years ago.  You can see where the horizon is clearly. In the original picture it was much lower and so I cropped it to get the horizon centred vertically. It’s quite good now and has a lot of depth.

Outabout 011

I took this one yesterday. There’s Simon venturing out into the wilds of Walsall! Those are nettles in the foreground and I fell on a patch yesterday, the stinging is only now wearing off…

Bradley 023

When you are viewing pictures and editing on a computer screen, the light in the room can make a difference. I edited this pictures and a few more on Sunday when there was quite bright sunlight. It’s dull today and the pictures look much better. I tried for something quite different with this shot. It was the end of the afternoon and so a lot of shadows and I had the sun behind me. I tried to get a lot of depth to the shot. I think the fencing does that. Notice all the patterns in the picture that add to the interest.

Please share your thoughts in the comments box. Which is your favourite picture?

5 responses

  1. Hi Mike, Oh, you’re making it difficult to pick my favorite photo this week! I have to say it’s the first one. I really like the colours you added to the original images. I actually like the depth of the top photo because of the yellow grasses. They add colour to the image.

    Be careful of those stinging nettles, Mike! I guess that’s a hazard of your profession.

    12, June 2013 at 4:32 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I’m usually careful but took the wrong path yesterday and had to jump. I’m thinking about a new camera, so I need to be more careful with an expensive camera. Mine’s quite rugged, it’s been dropped on concrete without any problems, but the new one will need more care. I was asked to review an art exhibition and so now I’m an art critic, I’m getting more ambitious! 🙂

      12, June 2013 at 4:40 pm

      • Don’t forget to mention the sheep in your review! 😉

        12, June 2013 at 4:44 pm

    • The review of the art exhibition was on the top floor, different exhibition. I reviewed it last week – https://mike10613.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/walsall-art-gallery-david-rowan-pacha-kuti-ten/

      12, June 2013 at 6:29 pm

  2. Pingback: Setting priorities | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

