This site is English – get used to it…

Summer in the Black Country


DSC_1084

For the benefit of local readers and new readers, I live in Wednesbury, in the heart of the Black Country.  So called because of the coal and industry. It was said to be black by day and red by night. I remember the red by night when the furnaces were opened. I remember the bronchitis from the smoke too.

This is my second blog post this morning. We don’t have a lot of writers in the Black Country or famous people for that matter. It’s quite a deprived area. Boris Johnson, now mayor of London once worked for the local newspaper; the Express and Star. That’s one problem we have in the Black Country, people being brought in from outside to do jobs that people here could do. Boris is a toff though, so they would give him a chance even though he wouldn’t know the area or anything else.

The Express and Star reported an apparent racist attack on a mosque in Walsall a couple of weeks ago. The remains of an explosive device was found and the man ‘took it home to show  his wife’. The next day it was taken into the mosque and the police were called, who swooped, sealing off and evacuating the area.  In the end a 75 year old  age pensioner was arrested on suspicion of planting the device.

Police have also swooped in a dramatic raid on a suspected brothel in Walsall. A 28-year-old woman was arrested on suspicion of managing a brothel and has been released on police bail. You can watch the police video of that raid on the Express and Star website.

Boris Johnson now gets paid £250,000 a year to write a weekly column for the Telegraph (according to the Guardian). I wish the Express and Star would pay me that much to write a weekly column. I find the local news hilarious, I don’t know why…

You can read the other article I wrote this morning on a Zillion Ideas. Why not click the link and pop over there. You can also follow me on Twitter or share your thoughts in the comments box.

5 responses

  1. that was a big money… 😉

    30, June 2013 at 3:25 pm

    • Hi,

      I could do with £250,000 a year. £5,000 a week would just about let me life the sort of life that I would like to become accustomed to! Actually, it wouldn’t change my life too much. I could help make the community that I live in better though. Times when I’ve wished I had more money have been when others need help. Like the local hospital radio needing money to buy equipment or a friend needing somewhere to live. Boris Johnson gave a few thousand to charity. I think it was to provide scholarships to Oxford for fellow toffs…

      1, July 2013 at 11:27 am

  2. My God, I really did miss a lot while I was away.

    2, July 2013 at 1:56 pm

    • Hi Nick,

      There is a police video on the Express and Star site of that suspected brothel raid. That is worth watching! Social services is going to try to straighten her out now. Who’s going to straighten them out? That’s the question!

      2, July 2013 at 2:30 pm

  3. Pingback: Does Walsall need a summer exhibition? | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

