This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty Thursday | Beating the price rises


The Aldi super-six this week are carrots (1kg), broccoli (335g), spring onions, little gem lettuce (2), radish (200g) and tomatoes (6). They are all 39p each and that’s the same as last week.  I’m not sure when that offer ends, it could be today. Check out the Thursday special buys too, they have some useful garden stuff.

There’s even a leather reclining chair and foot stool today for 99.99.  The Sunday special buys are more interesting for me. I want a wheelbarrow and 9.99 seems a good price. I think I’m going to have to take a tape measure and check to see if it will fit in the back of my car. The spray paints could be useful too.

On the coming soon page they have coloured saucepans. I need saucepans and a frying pan so I’ll look at those.

Matalan is offering £5 off to spend in store or online this Bank Holiday. I just found a pan set at Matalan for £6.00. That would be just what I need.  They have saucepans and frying pan at Asda direct too, but more expensive. That can mean better quality, but not always. You need to go to the store and actually look at the products.  A wheelbarrow at Asda is 28 pounds and only 9.99 at Aldi. I’m sure the Asda one will be better quality, but it depends what you want to use it for. I want one to use occasionally and not for anything heavy. I think the Aldi one will probably do.

We need to shop around even more now to beat the prices rises. Everything that we need keep going up and many luxuries seem cheap by comparison. You need to shop around for other things too. Many websites would have you shop around every year for energy, car insurance, bank accounts and credit cards. It’s all swings and roundabouts though. Change your energy supplier this year to the cheapest one and they probably won’t be the cheapest next year. It is worth phoning them up and asking what their cheapest tariff is though. I have a renewal on my car insurance and it’s gone up by over 10% again.

We all have to chose whether to spend our money today or save and invest for the future. Companies are finding it hard to get investment and so are offering better rewards to investors. Where will they find the money to pay those rewards? They have to make bigger profits and that means greater efficiency or higher prices or both. We can expect higher prices for a lot of things in the near future, especially where there is little competition like the energy market. We can get bargains now on the sock market and investment income can help cushion the blow of higher prices. It might seem unfair if you can’t afford to invest, but life is unfair. If you can afford to invest, you can now buy shares in the AIM through your ISA. AIM investments tend to be higher risk, but the potential rewards are higher too. Sometimes you can get bargains on dealing fees and then you can buy small amounts of shares in some of the riskier companies on the AIM (Alternative Investment Market).

Have you spotted a thrifty bargain this week? Please share your thoughts in the comments box. You can also follow me on Twitter for updates.

3 responses

  1. hi, aldi also sells 49p cucumber and celery , iceberg lettuce in the peckham branch in london. but i think u can get better bargains for other veg in local markets. i got 8 tomatoes for 50p in brixton market. there must be a glut of them now, usually they are 4 or 6 for 50p. 4 cloves of garlic 50p, ginger 50p

    22, August 2013 at 1:03 pm

    • Hi,

      I only put the specials at Aldi because the vary a little around the country. I haven’t been yet, I think I’ll go this afternoon. You can get cheaper fruit and vegetables from markets and independents. I had potatoes and a huge cauliflower because I didn’t need much else form an independent, but the quality wasn’t quite so good. I think there are lots of tomatoes now. I was going to grow some. It’s been good weather for them this year. I’m struggling to keep my lawn mowed this year though!

      Thanks for the comment…

      22, August 2013 at 1:28 pm

  2. Pingback: Another week ends | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

