This site is English – get used to it…

Photographing and preserving history


Station Street

There can be many reasons for taking photographs. It can be to create art, for nostalgic reasons, to preserve history or just for the fun of it.

I took this photo of a factory and some trees farther down the road and it provoked some interest and nostalgic memories. The street is called Station Street and got me wondering where the railway station used to be.

Factory in Station street

This remnant of our industrial past will probably disappear soon and so I hope I’m preserving a little history by taking pictures. I think I’ll go back and photograph more of this street and try to figure out where the railway station was.

station street school

There were no buffer zones years ago to separate, industry, housing and schools. The school is right over the road from the factory! 

fishin

Before the railways were built, canals carried the goods of the industrial revolution as well as the raw materials like lime stone and coal. They also provided a little relaxation in the form of fishing on weekends. It’s still popular today.

blackberry picking

Blackberries also grow down the side of the canals. You have to be a little brave and know where to look though! I’m not sure what that channel is running at the side of the canal. It was flooded last year. There is a brook beyond those trees so maybe that’s to drain it?

These photos were taken in Darlaston, in the West Midlands region of England. Once a place that employed many thousands of steelworkers, now it’s an outpost of Walsall and a relic of the industrial past.

What do you think of today’s pictures? Is it worth preserving images of what’s left of our memories? Please share your thoughts in the comments box. You can also subscribe for updates or follow me on Twitter.

7 responses

  1. Hi Mike, From your photos, I’m beginning to realize that I like geometry in photos. The top photo really captured my attention with all of the different shapes and angles.

    I agree with you, I like the preservation of history. Yesterday I drove by when a charming older home was being demolished. It took me by surprise as I drive by that home almost every day. Such a very sad occurrence to have our history disappear before our eyes but we can’t stop time from marching on!

    27, August 2013 at 4:50 pm

  2. Hi Carolyn,

    I really like the chimneys in that photo. It has lots of depth too, because the factory goes all down the street. I like photographing buildings more with this camera. The Fuji seems better for some landscapes. The colours aren’t so strong and I get more colour separation with the Fuji. I do intend to photograph more buildings before they disappear. Lots of pubs have closed and will be demolished. Even churches are going.

    Thanks for the comment.

    27, August 2013 at 5:57 pm

  3. Hi Mike,

    Just wanted to commend you on your efforts to preserve your patch through photography – well done!

    I try to do my bit for Bloxwich and district, via the pages of the Bloxwich Telegraph.

    Keep up the good work!

    Cheers

    Stuart Williams

    28, August 2013 at 8:42 am

    • Hi Stuart,

      I intend to take more photos of buildings. There are so many disappearing. I pass pubs all the time with boarded up windows or for sale signs outside. I have a bit of trouble travelling, so I don’t get as far as Bloxwich yet! The Manor hospital was as far as i got a few years ago, but I’m making progress!

      Thanks for the comment. I’ll watch out for your photos.

      28, August 2013 at 11:42 am

  4. More power to your camera Mike!

    When people start taking an interest in their history and want to see pictures of places long gone, it will be your page that gets the most visitors….. that’s for sure. 😀

    Keep up that eternal clicking, x

    28, August 2013 at 7:12 pm

    • Hi Tia,

      I was thinking about how to keep the pictures this week. I might start putting all the best ones on a flash drive and a program to view them on it too. Systems change. I remember the US government having lots of computer archives and no way of looking at them. Even text documents have to be stored in more than one format. I tend to convert some to PDF, who knows if Word will be supported in years to come. Doc files became docx files!

      28, August 2013 at 8:49 pm

  5. Pingback: Darlaston | preserving images of industrial history | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

