This site is English – get used to it…

Well, he would say that, wouldn’t he?


brunswick park

“Well, he would say that, wouldn’t he?” is a quote attributed to Mandy Rice-Davies. She actually said, “He would, wouldn’t he?” She was referring to what Lord Astor had said in denying an affair. The same quote could apply equally to a member of the House of Commons as a member of the House of Lords. They will all say what is expedient, rather than the truth.

I’m also reminded of the quote by James Whitcomb Riley, “When I see a bird that walks like a duck and swims like a duck and quacks like a duck, I call that bird a duck.” Which could mean, don’t pay attention to what politicians say, pay attention to what they do. Actions speak louder than words. The actions of the present government seem to indicate they love the rich and hate the poor.

Who should we blame for economic and social problems? was my post yesterday exploring who really is to blame for problems in Britain. That was over on a Zillion Ideas.

Autumn bargain hunting was Thursday’s thrifty post here on WordPress.  It’s the Autumnal equinox this weekend.

It’s only money was Wednesday’s post. There seems to be a lot of people these days who don’t know the value of money. I remember Michael Winner saying you need 3 million to live ‘comfortably’ and that was a few years ago.I could be very comfortable with 3 million quid…

Neodigital Art | Creating art was my art post over on a Zillion Ideas on Tuesday. I now have a great idea for a picture for an exhibition. I just need to see the right landscape and set my camera on all the right settings, then take the shot.

Photography | Promotional images was my Tuesday post here on WordPress. If you have something to promote on the internet. You can combine an image with words to promote it on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and on websites like this one.

Psychology | Clans and tribes was Monday’s psychology post. I think family and friends are important, but it can be taken to an extreme. I admit to still having my old school tie, but I never wear it. I’m certainly not an elitist like the Bullindon Boys. 

Food banks, plastic bags and Vikings was my less than serious Sunday post. I have used pictures of The Public in West Bromwich a lot this week. I would have used photographs of stupid people, but most of them are in London or to be more precise, Westminster.

Economics in business was a article by Fairy Dharawat over on a Zillion Ideas last week. I might have more guest writers soon, so there will be more diverse subjects to choose from, I hope…

If you fancy writing something for a Zillion Ideas, you can simply email it to me and I’ll take a look. You won’t make any money out of it, but you can show off your talent and photos are welcome too. You should read some of the posts first to get some idea of what I write. You can also help publicise the site by ‘liking’ it on Facebook and sharing with your friends. You can also follow me on Twitter.

I’ll be writing another Sunday ramble tomorrow. They are often funny and nearly always political and irreverent. Please comment if you have ideas or questions.

One response

  1. Pingback: Remember when the British invaded America? | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

