This site is English – get used to it…

Bleeding genius


I live in the urban conurbation known as the Black Country. A phenomenon that I see frequently as I drive around is the pavement extended out into the road to form a sort of layby. This is to give people a place to park their car as signified by  the white line. Sometimes the layby is divided up into nice little parking bays.

Bleeding genius!

Now apart from the problem that this practice makes all the roads narrow and difficult to drive along, it also seems to waste a lot of space. Now it’s not often I drive out of the Black Country, but I did once; a long time ago. I forget the name of the village I went to, but it was somewhere between Birmingham and Stratford upon Avon. This was before they built the M42 and M40 motorways. It was a very scenic village and obviously, I needed a place to park the car. I saw something amazing in that little village that I will never forget. There was a layby to park my car in, but they had painted the white line differently. The layby was wider than a normal one too, and you parked at a 45 degree angle to the road. You know on car parks when you park at 90 degrees to the road, you have to put full lock on and it’s hard to get between the white lines? There was none of that messing about going back and forth, you just drove in, stopped the car and went off to do a bit of work. When you came back you could reverse out really easily and even see cars coming down the road as you reversed, so you could stop and let them past. The guy who designed that parking was a bleeding genius, as we say in the Black Country. I wonder why it never caught on? It would save loads of space on car parks. Perhaps it was one of those things like the everlasting light bulb was wasn’t a good idea when you want to keep people on a car park for a bit longer, to make an extra few bob out of them?

Sub-headings

Doing these sub-headings throughout my post puts me off, but apparently it makes it easier for Google to read the keywords. You might ask Google to find something that is ‘bleeding genius’ and it will find this post because I used a sub-heading. Life is so bleeding complicated these days…

Bleeding obvious

It seems Cameron and Clegg are in less than secret talks about forming a second coalition after the 2015 general election. They might have to form a coalition that includes UKIP and the Monster Raving Loony Party and anyone else who cares to join if they want to form a government. To use another common Black Country phrase, it’s bleeding obvious that they are extremely unpopular and the divide and conquer strategy will fail.

Tax Break

The tax break for married couples and civil partnerships seems like a good idea and a vote winner, but gay marriage wasn’t too popular and could be a vote loser. David Cameron frequently uses the phrase ‘the right thing to do’, but now he is thinking about the popular thing to do as the next election looms. Can he con the conservative middle class into voting Tory and not offend the more liberal members of society in the process?

You can have your say by making a comment. You can also subscribe or even follow me on Twitter.

5 responses

  1. I long ago gave up hope that council planners had any clue what they were doing with roads. I must remember to take a photo of the young sapling recently planted in my road to replace a felled tree. The position it has been planted. It’s a corker.

    1, October 2013 at 8:06 am

    • Hi Nick,

      Sandwell is bad but Walsall do stupid things too. They seem to block roads a lot on Walsall. They blocked one in Darlo because they ha built old folks flats there. So no traffic went down hardly and one of my friends got mugged there because it was so quiet. God save us from Bureaucrats and politicians!

      1, October 2013 at 11:03 pm

  2. Got quite a few like that splattered around Llandudno where the road is wide enough for them.
    I agree …blooming genius!

    5, October 2013 at 12:22 am

    • Hi Tia,

      Now you mention it, I seem to remember seeing some sensible parking when I was in Wales. I parked on a railways station car park once, I think it was near Aberystwyth and the toilets worked. Not only that they had hot water, that was a bleeding miracle… 🙂

      5, October 2013 at 2:05 pm

  3. Pingback: Black Country creativity | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

