This site is English – get used to it…

Neodigital Art | Inspired by galleries


art - Walsall

I went to the Bilston Craft Gallery on Thursday and Walsall Art Gallery on Sunday, so I had a lot to inspire me this week. I took this photo when I came out of Walsall Art gallery and thought the bikes in the foreground would give it a lot of depth. The building are unusual too. I did the edit with PhotoScape.

Hitting the Right Notes

I photographed this piece at Bilston Craft gallery. It’s part of an exhibition of the work of Jane Wilson from Shrewsbury called “Hitting the Right Notes”. Its made from the recycled wooden parts that make up the notes on a piano. The photo doesn’t really do it justice, it has texture and you feel like touching it.

ART GALLERY

Most art galleries have something for all tastes. This is Walsall Art Gallery and a few children were enjoying getting creative on that long piece of paper with crayons. The gallery also allows works by well known artists to go to schools, rather than the kids coming to the gallery. We not only need to help children appreciate and learn about art, but also the effect of travel on climate change.

A FLOWER

Sometimes I go back to a picture and try editing again. I added a border and vignette to this picture and then carefully blurred the background even more to make the flower stand out.

A TOY TOWN STAMP

You can have a bit of fun with PhotoScape and design you own stamp. This was a photo of an ivy covered gate house. I edited it again and added a perforated border to make it look like a stamp and added a vignette, colorized it yellow and added some text and cartoon like clouds. You can experiment, but the order you do things can be quite important. I did the vignette before the colorize and if you do the border before resizing it makes the perforation bigger, because the border isn’t resized.

If you would like to see more pictures, including some ‘before’ and ‘after’ editing pictures. My other post on a Zillion Ideas has some more pictures and ideas on editing. Which picture do you like today? Please share your thoughts in the comments box. You can also follow me on Twitter

4 responses

  1. Hi Mike, The top photo is interesting because of the mix of old and new buildings in the background with the bikes in the foreground bisecting the line between the two.

    The flower edit is spectacular, my favourite for the week. The ivy covered cottage is charming but I’m not a fan of the cartoons.

    Is that the art gallery with the sheep in formaldehyde?

    8, October 2013 at 2:00 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I was just playing around with the cottage. I couldn’t get the perforations to show up clearly, so the colours were wrong in the end. It would be OK for a kids book or something though. That top picture doesn’t look quite so good small on a black background. Maybe it needs to be lighter. That was my third attempt at that flower! I think that edit is the best one.

      Yes it was the gallery with the pickled sheep. I tried to photograph another piece by Damien Hirst, the ‘Pharmacist’s Creed’ but some avant garde student wouldn’t move out of the way!
      I liked the pieces in Bilston Craft Gallery better, but my photos weren’t so good. I really needed to use the flash.

      Thanks for visiting. I think my future could be in designing stamps and postcards! 🙂

      8, October 2013 at 5:08 pm

  2. Pingback: Free places to go | Mike10613's Blog

  3. Pingback: Art | Can we define it? | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

