This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty bargain hunting on the web


Super Six

The Aldi super-six this week are new potatoes (750g), swede, carrots (1Kg), leeks (500g), mild onions (4) and parsnips (600g). They are all 59p. That offer lasts until next Thursday, the 24th of October. Is it time to start shopping for Christmas? I’m shopping around on the internet now…

Thrifty Christmas

The thought of Christmas is striking terror into some people, but if you just spend what you can afford, it doesn’t need to be so bad. You can also spread the cost by starting early. I was watching out for cheap wine and beer in the summer and have enough already for my guests at Christmas.

Aldi Special Buys

The special buys at Aldi today look interesting. I want the car stereo, but I’m not sure if it would fit in my car. There are lots of tools  and work clothes too.  We need to prepare for colder weather now, we have been lucky where I live so far.

The Sunday special buys includes lots of things for winter too, like thermal underwear. There are packs of coat hangers too,  for 2.99. I mention those because students have just started university and might need a pack of coat hangers!

Poundland

In Poundland they have the Halloween stuff in and I noticed they have started having the Christmas wrapping paper and decorations too. I might buy some decorations this year. I only usually put lights up and they stay up until February. I bought some gift bags last year, they were 3 for a pound. They’re good for doing Christmas goody bags; they make great pressies for all ages.  You can put stationary in, a box of Cadbury’s miniatures, a couple of tangerines, white mice made of sugar or whatever you like. I did one last year, the mice confused the recipient a bit…

Matalan

I looked at the new arrivals on the Matalan website, but didn’t find anything to inspire me. I’ve given up trying to find a new coat, I washed my old one!

BHS

When I was at Walsall Art Gallery last week there was a BHS close by, I thought about going in, but I’m not very keen on spending money. It might be worth looking at their sale though. They have summer tee shirts and that sort of thing on sale.  They have some nice picture frames, but I like the prices in Poundland better….

Asda

Asda has some Halloween stuff in and they’re just starting to stock the Christmas lines too. Nothing to get excited about…

The local market

Have you spotted a bargain this week? Please comment and share it with everyone. I had a walk around the local market, I didn’t buy anything, but there was a small shop  that sells most things and so I got a new strap for my watch. I have has this Sekonda Xpose for that long I can’t remember where I got it from, but it keeps on working. You can subscribe to this blog or follow me on Twitter for updates.

One response

  1. Pingback: Remember when the British invaded America? | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

