This site is English – get used to it…

Helping your neighbours


Woden Road S Wednesbury

I took this photo last Sunday afternoon. I don’t think the weather will be quite so sunny for today’s outing. Lots of ordinary people appreciate the Autumn colours and the beauty of nature; but nature can also be dangerous. Typhoon Haiyan has devastated the Philippines. We are sending £50 million in aid and other countries are trying to help too.  Can we afford it in these times of austerity?

The United States

We tend to think of the United States as being a wealthy country but they too are experiencing problems. They are still sending aid to help the 11M people in the Philippines. Can they afford it when they have trillion dollar debts? The fact is that they have those debts because of wars and the space program. Many of those debts are to their own pension funds and can be paid in the future. The big problem in the US is imports as their big companies send work overseas. Apple has Iphones made in the Far East, money flows out of the country and comes back as ‘investment’ as foreign government buy American bonds. That is the real problem; big US companies using cheap labour.

Helping your neighbours

The jet age made the world smaller and we do have a global economy now  and so the people of the Philippines are our neighbours. When they are hungry can we forego a few luxuries and offer them food and shelter? I live in a small street of 30 odd houses, would I let my neighbours and their children go hungry? No of course not. I’m not rich, but I would do what I can. Many British people agree with me, why else would they donate £30 million pounds between them to the appeal for funds. If it were my immediate neighbours would we all contribute the same to help the family who were hungry. I suspect not. I suspect it would be those with the most giving to those with the least. I also suspect that people who have known hunger would be more generous than people who have never experienced hardship. That is the problem with this country. People are suffering at home because the toffs running the country have never experienced hardship. It’s all very well showing off by making sure your neighbours children don’t go hungry,  but you should feed your own first.

Motorway bridges

I can understand why people are threatening to commit suicide, but why do they threaten to jump from motorway bridges? There was another one yesterday on the M42 and the police closed the motorway in both directions and he was still there today. Thousands of motorists are caught up in the traffic chaos and their lives are at risk too. If one of those motorists has a heart attack from all the stress while waiting for the traffic to clear, someone could die who doesn’t want to die. I think closing the motorway is going too far. If someone farts on the M6 the police close it for 4 hours…

Paperwork

One police officer complained (via Twitter) this week about all the paperwork they have to do. I think that comes from lawyers and politicians. We have to blame someone for everything. There is no such thing as an accident any more someone is always to blame. If no one is to blame then it’s an act of God and the bloody insurance won’t pay out. Take that Act of God clause out of insurance policies and allow people stuck on the M6 for 4 hours to claim on their insurance and I’m sure there would be fewer delays then. Motorists would be claiming for everything from whiplash to inflamed piles.

Act of God

George Gideon Osborne, David Cameron, Boris Johnson, Ed Miliband and Nick Clegg should use their Oxbridge education to realise that the way to impress us the people is to dig deep into their own pockets and donate their own money to the Philippines appeal. Now that would be an Act of God. They would probably claim for that on their bloody expenses too.

Fiddles

In one programme the BBC exposed a woman claiming benefits as a fraudster after she won money on a TV game show. They also featured the MP who failed to declare her income from I’m a Celebrity … Get Me Out of Here! Tory MP Nadine Dorries has apologised to the Commons for failing to declare her fee for appearing on ITV’s I’m a Celebrity … Get Me Out of Here! programme last year, after being censured by the parliamentary standards watchdog. Oh, that’s alright then, she’s apologised (after she got caught). Caroline Banana who won £95,000 on Deal or No Deal was been charged with benefit fraud. What did we expect? Nadine only fiddled £82,000 and she did apologise…  Now which one was allowed to keep the money?

Prince Charles

Prince Charles has been doing the hokey cokey out in Sri Lanka. He’s a pensioner now, he’ll be taking Camilla to tea dances at the town hall next. I hope he’s got a bus pass…

As I’ll be eligible for a bus pass in a few months time, I’m saying no more…  

Please use the comments box to share your thoughts, if you have any. I think Prince Charles and myself will have fewer thoughts from now on…  One might be struggling to remember one’s name next year…

You can also follow me on Twitter.

5 responses

  1. I’m guessing it’s the MP who was the one allowed to keep the money. When they say, “We’re in this together,” that must mean a club for MPs, bankers and their business friends.

    17, November 2013 at 11:50 am

    • Hi Nick,

      Are we being unfair and cynical though? I don’t think so, while I think some people deserve higher salaries such as hospital doctors. I think the pen pushers and politicians are full of it. Boris Johnson got where he is because of who he knows, not what he knows. I tried to explain why I dislike Oxford University to a Chinese student this week who wants to go there. She believes in elitism, but educational elitism that comes from attaining a higher level of knowledge through hard work and dedication. Not because you have connections and that makes sure you get a honours degree regardless of how many times you get pissed with the Bullingdon club. I don’t trust Miliband either, he’s from the same club.

      17, November 2013 at 1:15 pm

  2. lottoresultsuk

    Hi Mike, do you use any filters for these images? they look really good.

    17, November 2013 at 5:43 pm

    • Hi,

      No, I want to get some filters. They are of limited use compared to editing. The UV filter will eliminate the haze on some camera, but I just add some contrast in editing and it does the same thing without spending 30 pounds on a filter. I want a 300 mm lens before I buy filters!

      18, November 2013 at 10:50 am

  3. Pingback: Christmas is coming | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

