This site is English – get used to it…

Christmas Photography and editing


Wednesbury Market

I didn’t have many new pictures last week, but this week I have lots! I went to photograph the switch on of the Christmas lights on Friday and got lots of photos. It took me 24 hours to thaw out afterwards though.

There was an official switch on, by the mayor, I think. Near our traditional market that was on late and lit up for Christmas. They should have more evening markets.

Christmas singer

As you can see it was quite busy and festive. There was a fun fair and Christmas lights too.

1 Festive Bus

This was the festive bus near to Santa’s grotto. I’ll be using more of these photos over the next few weeks.

1 Wednesbury at Christmas

I was out again on Sunday taking more photos. It was cloudy so the light wasn’t good but at least it was warmer. In this shot you can see the Christmas lights, if you look carefully. We have a Christmas tree too!

1 Scrooge the movie

This alleyway provided me with an interesting shot for an artistic edit. Need an opening shot for a Christmas movie? I see the Victorian features of this local town, others just see the dereliction and grime.

1 Virgin

I want canal pictures but that was very misty and the light was terrible, so we went around the corner to the railway station. I set the camera on ‘sports’ for this which is quite a fast speed. The aperture puts the front of the train in focus, but you get some depth of field too. That train didn’t stop and came through quite fast. You have to hold the camera still and keep your nerve for a shot like this! I was surprised how quiet it was, it’s so easy to not see or hear it coming.

Do you have a favourite picture this week? Please comment or you can follow me on Twitter.

9 responses

  1. Pingback: Let There Be Light! | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  2. Pingback: Christmas Sale Now On At Raven Photography | Raven Photography by Jenna Goodwin

  3. Wednesbury looks ‘alive’!
    How brilliant is that?

    4, December 2013 at 12:02 pm

    • Hi Tia,

      I nearly froze to death! They didn’t switch the lights on until nearly half past 6! By that time I had lost the feeling in my fingers! Good pictures though.

      5, December 2013 at 9:02 pm

  4. Wow, Mike, that train looks like it’s standing still! That’s a great camera you have!

    That Grotto bus looks like fun!

    My favorite photo is the town square. The festive feeling comes through, I feel as if I’m there!

    6, December 2013 at 1:59 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I just looked ta that picture to see how blurred the train is and it’s quite good. The shutter was open for about 300th of a second. and the train was travelling at about 30ft per second! So there should have been more blurring. I can see some on the rest of the picture, but there was some camera shakes as that came past! I think a better shot would have been the look on Simon’s face. He was behind me on the yellow line closer to the train! I think that bus sometimes takes passengers down to the farm where i photographed the flower cart. There was a sign on the back.

      6, December 2013 at 5:35 pm

  5. Pingback: Wednesbury at Christmas | Mike10613's Blog

  6. Some lovely pictures! I love that one looking down the dark passage, very intriguing…

    18, December 2013 at 1:11 pm

    • Hi,

      I like that one. Maybe it’s my imagination, but the figures at the end appear to be wearing Victorian clothes!

      18, December 2013 at 3:40 pm

Please share your thoughts here:

