This site is English – get used to it…

Photography: Calendar photos


1 boats

I need some photos for a waterways calendar competition, so I was out in the freezing cold on Sunday taking photos of the canals. The sun came out a little for this one, but there were still dark clouds. It’s a nice picture, but is it good enough for a calendar? I would have preferred more light and camera shake is also a problem when it’s that cold. You shiver!

1 canal edit

I brightened this one up by adding contrast, but perhaps I overdid it?

1 Tipton Canal

I shot all these pictures using aperture priority and the camera set the speed. The speed was 1/300 second for most of them. This one was shot into the sun and the extra light tricked the camera into increasing the speed to 1/3000 second. So it came out too dark. I made it lighter in editing. I quite like it.

1 narrowboats

I put some photos on Facebook and this was the most popular one, so it will probably be one I’ll enter in the competition.

1 canal bridge

I like this shot too. It’s best to select a wide aperture for landscape photos because it gives depth of field. More of the photo is in focus. For these pictures a wide aperture would have meant a slower speed and it was freezing. I had to compromise. You can see that this side of the bridge is more in focus than the other side. I can make out the brickwork on the other side of the bridge so it was a good compromise. The trees look out of focus, but they weren’t the subject so it works quite well. It was a difficult spot to take a picture, but in some places using a tripod would give clearer, more in focus pictures. It was really too windy for a tripod though. You can’t win in winter! I do have photos that are different from the pretty summer pictures that have already been entered though. It’s a calendar, they need photos from all the seasons.

You can choose your favourite picture and tell me in the comments box. You can also follow me on Twitter.

One response

  1. Pingback: The Christmas review | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

