This site is English – get used to it…

Photography: Cropping pictures


1 River Tame pre=edit

I took this photo on Sunday. I’ve added a little contrast. I was disappointed, the light wasn’t as good as I expected. I also took my tripod and couldn’t find anywhere level to use it! My Nikon doesn’t zoom in very much compared to some of the bridge cameras. My Fuji is a few years old and even that has a 10X zoom.

Zoom

1 river Tame

If you compare the two pictures, you will see that this is a crop of the first picture, but still quite large. I can just about see that couple’s dog now! You can also see the low cloud better and that effected the light that was reflected down from the sky.

1 River Tame and Forge Mill Lake

I took this one a couple of weeks ago, in the same place. See the difference in the light? The cloud was simply higher in the sky and less of it.

1 River Tame summer

This is very different. This was the same place, but last summer. Lots of cloud, but the colours are different and so a lot of light being reflected on the ground. Notice the difference in the colour of the pathway, it’s lighter because it was dryer in summer. The water reflects the white and grey of the cloudy sky, in the previous picture it was blue.

1 1 swans

This was taken at the Mill Pool, which we usually refer to as the Milky Pool. Again the blue sky is reflected, but the bank of the pool isn’t so pretty. It look very different from a different angle though.

1 THE MILL POOL

This wasn’t the best picture, but it does show all the different colours. It also shows how to get a nice picture of the swans! You just have to wait for them to go to where the water is blue and the white contrasts against the deep blue of the water. Then you can crop out anything you don’t want.

1 1 1 swan

You can effectively zoom in by cropping. I did get a shot with the ducks on for size comparison too. That takes patience. There is a new sign at the Mill Pool, that helps us identify all the different species of birds. For a small urban pool, which I think is fed by the River Tame, it supports a lot of wildlife. Few local people actually use the pool or the heath that is adjacent, so it’s nice for a walk in summer.

Which picture do you like? Please use the comments box to share your thoughts. You can also follow me on Twitter and today I have a Neodigital Art post on a Zillion Ideas too. Nice artistic pictures there. You can double click these pictures for a better view.

5 responses

  1. I love both the photos. Great shots of both.

    19, February 2014 at 11:03 am

    • Thanks for the comment. Glad you like the photos.

      19, February 2014 at 3:52 pm

  2. Pingback: The Review: Art Attack | Mike10613's Blog

  3. I like to crop pictures, with that you can focus on what you want to highlight and get rid of unwanted angle sometimes.

    The third image with lush green at the bottom near the blue river and what looks like brown tress compliment each other.The pink color jacket looks really nice and comes out of the photo.

    All images are nice and the ducks are pretty too.

    26, February 2014 at 6:25 am

    • Hi Fairy,

      I clicked save on a post yesterday and it published. Microsoft was updating my laptop, so everything went crazy! I hope to post a photography post on a Zillion Ideas later. We have a little sunshine so I went out and took photos yesterday. It still freezing, but not long to Spring! Your post is on a Zillion Ideas today.

      26, February 2014 at 9:47 am

Please share your thoughts here:

