This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty Thursday: Chasing bargains


The Aldi super six this week are red onions (1kg), garlic (4), celery, lemons (3), carrots (1Kg) and little gem lettuce (2). They are all 59p each and the offers run from today until the 9th of April.

Meat offers

There are now super-six meat offers too, that includes pork, chicken and pork sausages. I went to Aldi yesterday and they had some nice pork joints, but a little too big for me. I had pork chops instead. I also had some ham trimmings for just 1.65 and made a ham and prawn salad with fresh prawns and iceberg lettuce. The fruit and vegetables are coming down a little in price. My iceberg lettuce was only 45p. The broccoli too was just 45p.

Thursday special buys

It’s Mother’s Day on Sunday and in my local Aldi they had lots of flowers and you could look through the special buys for a present. The special buys include lots of flowers and also a tablet computer for 79.99.

Sunday special buys

The Sunday special buys are worth looking at too. I will take a look at the towels, they are always useful. The self closing toilet seat will be popular with some women, but not so popular with the guy who has to fit it…

Tesco

Tesco have some special offers for Mothers Day. Why not treat your mum to afternoon tea and cakes. The Mr Kipling cakes on offer might go down a treat.

There are other offers including boxes of Milk Tray, 2 for £3. You can get the mother in law one too…

Asda

Asda too has chocolates and lots of ideas for Mother’s Day. Maybe breakfast in bed would be a good idea?

Gifts

Retailers try to persuade us to buy for Christmas, Easter, Mother’s Day, Father’s day, birthdays and anniversaries. It works out quite expensive and so don’t be ashamed to get quite a modest gift for Mother’s Day. It’s my sister’s birthday today, I gave her a £20 coin in solid silver. They are legal tender and so have a value as a coin as well as being limited edition and so valuable as a collector’s item. They make a good conversation piece too.

Old fashioned?

I’m not as young as I was, but I like modern clothing most of the time. I do like some more traditional clothing though, like classic blazers and overcoats. Where can you get those at a reasonable price these days. I was sent a little catalogue of goods this week and so I decided to look at the website. It’s hard to judge quality on a website, but Chums might be worth looking at if you are of a more mature age… That website does have an ‘adult’ section that might not be suitable for everyone…

Matalan

The Matalan sale has a few more bargains. I might take a look and see if I can find a new sweater. There home ware is always worth looking at too.

Have you seen any bargains? Please use the comments box to share your finds. You can also follow me on Twitter. What do you do with the cash you save? Just save it in a bank account or do you invest it in an tax free ISA (Individual Saving Account)?

5 responses

  1. Fei

    Great value for Mothers day

    27, March 2014 at 10:45 am

  2. morrisons are doing chicken for £1.75 a kg. it is sellling out fast.

    27, March 2014 at 1:03 pm

    • Hi,

      That’s cheap, it’s usually about 2.50 a kilo. I have a Morrisons about a mile away. It gets a bit crowded. I do get bargains there sometimes, but some things are expensive. I get gluten free cornflakes from there sometimes. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

      27, March 2014 at 2:18 pm

  3. Pingback: Clocks forward this weekend and a full moon… | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

