This site is English – get used to it…

Photography: Changing weather, seasons and light.


Wednesbury Pool

When I first started photography, I took some shots here on a sunny day. Yesterday it was cloudy and a little misty, but I quite like the result. Many of the trees are still developing their leaves and the water rather than blue is reflecting the grey sky. I also shot towards the sun for an unusual effect.

geese

Now you can see the colour of the sky more clearly. I was trying to get the geese and ducks silhouetted against the water. They cooperated a little!

Wednesbury Pool and geese

I seem to have a different effect in this shot. I have more depth to the picture. I used the trees on the left for depth and focused on something in the distance.

1 Goose at Loxdale Sidings

I tried to get the goose as a feature of this picture too. This was taken last week and the light was quite good. Again I’ve tried for depth using the wall on the right and the tree on the left while I focus on the canal going into the distance.

1 Loxdale bridge

This was taken in the same place and you now see the blue sky because I was shooting in a different direction. It looks like it could be in the countryside, rather than a canal in the town.

What do you like? Please use the comments box to share your thoughts. You can also follow me on Twitter.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: The review: A nice little war? | Mike10613's Blog

  2. Hi Mike, I really like the perspective in all of your photos here. The depth of the photos really draws me in. But my favourite this week is the first one with the gray skies reflected in the water. The clouds give the photo so much atmosphere!

    29, April 2014 at 2:33 am

    • HI Carolyn,

      You will like this week’s even better. I have done one on a Zillion Ideas too about pods. I used a suction holder for my camera, a tripod and a monopod. The monopod seems good and I hope to test it out this afternoon! It converts into a walking stick too. I’m trying to get my photos clearer by holding the camera very still.

      29, April 2014 at 12:05 pm

Please share your thoughts here:

