This site is English – get used to it…

Photography: Black Country tradition


DSC_9654 (Copy)

Horse drawn carriages are a tradition in the Black Country and so when I saw a meeting on Sunday, I took some pictures. I had the camera (Nikon D3200) on the sports setting, because the light changes quickly and I was shooting in lots of different directions. You can see the shadows in this picture and it was still early.

DSC_9660 (Copy)

The horses seemed well looked after and well turned out to me. This is an urban area though and so I assume their are problems with grazing and so on. They met up at the Fiery Holes pub and were doing a run from there to the Frying Pan in Darlaston.

DSC_9670 (Copy)

The pub can be seen in this picture. You can also see the long shadows that made some shots quite difficult. The sports setting is fast and captures the action and movement. I think I would like to try a longer lens at events like this.

DSC_9677 (Copy)

Horse drawn carriages aren’t always popular with motorists,  because they slow down the traffic.They don’t damage your wheel bearings like speed humps though, so try to be a little patient.

DSC_9681 (Copy)

I had to find good positions to shoot from and had to get out of the way once or twice. Remember not to use the flash with animals too.

DSC_9688 (Copy)

If you’re not sure what to do when I point the camera at you, a thumbs up is always good. A smile or a peace sign works too! You can really see how bright the sun was in this shot, the shadows are very dark.

DSC_9694 (Copy)

This lady wanted her photo taken too. The sandwiches are probably in the back of that van!  You can see my car on the opposite side of the road!

DSC_9703 (Copy)

Good pose!

I will be using more of these photos in future posts. You can subscribe to this blog or comment. You can also follow me on Twitter for updates. Over on a Zillion Ideas there is more photos from Sunday’s horse drawn event.

4 responses

  1. Hi Mike, Love the photos! They make me feel as if I were there. The fourth picture with the brown horse with the pub in the background is my favourite. How I wish I could have been there!

    23, May 2014 at 3:10 am

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I like the ones where people appear to be enjoying themselves and the ‘thumbs up’ ones too. We have had rain again for the past two days. I hope it will clear up for the weekend. I might get some photos of them again, maybe from a different perspective as they move from pub to pub.

      23, May 2014 at 9:18 am

  2. Pingback: The Review: a green and pleasant land | Mike10613's Blog

  3. Pingback: The Fiery Holes | Up The Oss Road

Please share your thoughts here:

