This site is English – get used to it…

The Sunday Ramble: Show time


Carnival

It’s Tipton Carnival today and the sun is shining! Farther north it’s the Cosford Air Show and I think that will attract big crowds too. I think it will be quite warm this afternoon. I’ll see if I can take some photos at Tipton Carnival.

Air Shows

I have mixed feeling about air shows. I’m sure they are entertaining, but while people are prevented from doing ‘floats’ for carnivals because of ‘health and safety issues’; air shows have combat aircraft thundering across the sky at the speed of sound. If global warming was as big a problem as the powers that be make out, they would assess the amount of carbon all those planes were putting into the atmosphere, not to mention all the cars on the car parks.  No wonder some people think climate change is just a wheeze to put up taxes on energy. It’s like austerity, it affects everyone except those people imposing it.

Globalisation

I don’t know whether I like globalisation either. I don’t like all this empire building. We see it in government, especially local government with their posh civic centres complete with chandeliers. What was wrong with a town hall and a town clerk? Is it really any better to have a civic centre and a chief executive on 150K a year? The big companies are just as bad with their mergers and acquisitions. That was how RBS got in trouble, by trying to build a multinational empire. I blame the Americans with their KFC, Starbucks and McDonalds. Does a Starbucks coffee taste any better than a nice cup of tea? Is a McDonalds any better than fish ‘n’ chips?

I think we need localisation more than globalisation. I might spend a few quid at the carnival today and try to support the local economy and local charities.

The weather

I know, we British are obsessed with the bloody weather, but after weeks of rain the sun comes out and what do we do? We mow the bloody lawn. Mine is about 6 inches high, but it can wait. I’ve done it 4 or 5 times so far this year and it’s not even summer yet.

Dandelion and Burdock

I suggested we sell cups of Dandelion and Burdock at Wednesbury carnival to thirsty revellers. Wednesbury Carnival is on the 12th of July, the Saturday before Black Country Day (14th of July) and the same day as Darlo’s picnic in the park. Anyway, I was in Poundland yesterday buying AAA batteries for my speed light and I saw some plastic cups. I’ve tested them… You can fill 13 of them from a 2 litre bottle of Dandelion and Burdock; with a bit left over…

History

We have an history group on Facebook for Wednesbury and it was suggested the group could have a stall or a table or something at the carnival. I would organise that, but I’m too knackered to mow my lawn let alone do a carnival stall. It is a good idea though. I’ll buy the bottle of dandelion and burdock…

The history group looks back to the days when Wednesbury had a theatre rather than speed humps; proper colleges rather than High schools that think they are colleges. When we had cinemas rather than pizza and balti places. When bread and milk was delivered to homes by dairies and bakeries, rather than processed food by multinationals Asda and Tesco.

Some things have improved like health care and some have got worse like inequality and deprivation. Food banks and soup kitchens are becoming more common and we wonder how long it will be before Inane Duncan Smith suggests we bring back the workhouse.

That’s my ramble for today. Please share your rambling thoughts in the comments box. You can also follow me on Twitter.

One response

  1. Pingback: The Review: Life is so complicated | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

