This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty Thursday: Summer bargains


Aldi

The Aldi super six this week are Romaine lettuce (2), sugar snaps (150g), baby plum tomatoes (300g), peaches (4/5), galia melon and cherries (200g). They are all 69p each. I think summer salad days are here at last!

There are also super-six meat offers that include pork chops and pork and venison sausages.

Special Buys

Today’s special buys has lots of things for babies.

Sunday’s special buys are mostly tools and work clothes. There is a 800 watt generator for 59.99. That will run lights, a 800 watt microwave. It won’t run anything greater than 800 watts, like a 2000 watt heater. It would run a lot of low energy lights.

I had the lamb mince. I like it! I cooked it in a little water and crumbled in a Bovril cube and then made 3 shepherd’s pies with it. They are delicious and I have 2 left in the freezer.

You can save quite a lot on everyday items by shopping  around, but you can also save on bigger things. I shopped around for my camera equipment and saved hundreds of pounds. My car insurance automatically renews and so I got another quote this week and it was half the cost online. It’s the same insurance with the same company! It renews in September, so I’ll be calling them up and asking for a better quote or cancel it and take the one online.

I’m spending more time in the garden and it’s worth checking out Aldi and Poundland for gardening tools and seeds. I have potatoes growing and my runner beans now have flowers on. The lettuce seeds have germinated and the tomato plants are growing quite quickly. I have the tomato plants in the mini greenhouse. A pack of runner beans costs at least a £1 and so growing your own can save you £5 a week if there is just one person. A family can save even more.

That’s it for this week. Have you spotted a bargain? Please share your find in the comments box. You can also follow me on twitter.

One response

  1. Pingback: The Review: Black Country Festival | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

