This site is English – get used to it…

Photography: Black Country Events


Horse Owners Meeting

I was asked to photograph a horse owners event here in the Black Country on Sunday.  I need more practice with bad weather at events. I did the Christmas lights when it was freezing and I’ve done indoor and I’ve come to conclusion if the light is bad, get close up!

There is a lot of movement at events and so a fast setting is good. I use the sports setting, because it gives me multiple shots at a fast setting, without too much loss of quality. I can read the sign in this image, even though it looks like it’s in soft focus.

Horse Owners Meeting

The fast speed captured the action here and zooming in made the image sharper.

DSC_1160 (Copy)

I had to make this image a lot lighter because the horse is so dark, but managed to capture a sense of action.

Horse Owners Meeting

At events you try to capture the mood of the occasion and the emotions of the people. That is easier close up and the picture quality improves.

DSC_1255 (Copy)

Selecting the best photos is a good idea too.

DSC_1320 (Copy)

Getting skin tones right in a grey light is difficult, but at least people wanted to pose.

Next Saturday is Wednesbury Carnival and I’m hoping for better weather and light.

Please comment and tell me which photo you liked this week. There are more from the Horse Owners meeting on A Zillion Ideas too. You can also follow me on Twitter for updates.

3 responses

  1. Hi Mike, What a wonderful event with beautiful horses! I can’t resist the last photo of those adorable boys though. They are so very cute!

    Taking pictures of kids and animals must be a very tough assignment. Moving targets. 🙂

    You did a great job in capturing the spirit of the event with your wonderful photos, Mike.

    10, July 2014 at 12:15 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      Thanks, they will be pleased that someone so far away likes what they do. I took about 400 photos and selected the best ones. I uploaded over 80 to Facebook and made a video with them. The kids were great and gave me some good pictures. I have the Party in the Park starting tomorrow for 3 days and then the Carnival on Saturday! 🙂

      10, July 2014 at 4:39 pm

  2. Pingback: The Review: Carnival Day | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

