This site is English – get used to it…

Photography: 2014 super-moon


Supermoon Aug 2014

I took some shots of the super-moon at the weekend. I managed to get some detail, even though it was very bright. I used my Nikon D3200 with a 55 – 300mm lens and tried to hold it as still as possible, shooting out of the window.

Super moon

It was very bright and most people got shots that looked something like this. You can get a better shot by choosing shutter speed priority or a fast speed like sports so the light is reduced. Go for the largest size and best quality too, then you can crop the picture in editing to bring the moon closer. I like the way the moon lights up the clouds in this shot though.

The Super Moon

You can make the shots more interesting in editing. Some cloud makes for a better shot.

Bright super moon

A little cloud makes this picture better.  I made the shutter speed slower. That makes the moon brighter and  shows the cloud. Try to keep the camera still while taking the shot or the moon will appear oval rather than round.

What do you think?  Did you photograph the super moon at the weekend? Please share your thoughts in the comments box. You can also follow me on Twitter.

4 responses

  1. Wow, Mike, these are so cool! I saw the Super Moon this month but didn’t take a picture. I did last month, I saw the Super Moon over the water and behind a large Ferris Wheel. Let me know if you’d like me to send you the pictures.

    Each of these photos is amazing but my favourite is the second one because of the colours and the reflections of the clouds. But I really love each one!

    Off to pin these!

    13, August 2014 at 3:35 am

    • Hi Carolyn,

      Thank for pinning these. A little cloud helps with pictures of the moon. Something in the foreground like the Eiffel Tower would make them more interesting too! I would like yto see your pictures, maybe a little editing will make them more interesting. Adding a little colour to ones with cloud can make them better and of course cropping can bring the moon closer. Good shots of the moon can be taken early in the morning, just as it’s getting light. I did take a few shots at 3am, but not at daybreak!

      13, August 2014 at 10:31 am

  2. Pingback: The Review: getting close to nature | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

