This site is English – get used to it…

Photography: Random shots


Horse and Cart outside pub

I’ve taken a few photos of this pub, but I think the addition of the horse and cart outside makes it more interesting. It conveys an image, that many people might find appealing. There are lots of colours in the picture that reflect light too, which is important.

Goose - action shot

This shot was taken with the sports setting which is quite fast and spot focusing which put the goose in focus and everything else out of focus. I think it’s a good action shot.

Swan with duck flying past

We’ve had a lot of dark cloud and rain, but the sun came out on Sunday afternoon. I was taking a photo of the swan on the pool in quite good light when a lot of ducks flew into my shots. I couldn’t take this again if I tried. I have the swan and duck and even a coot in the left of the picture.

Bird landing in tree

I’m not sure what this bird is, I took a few shots of it flying and then coming in to land in that tree. Again use a fast speed and a telephoto zoom lens.

Metro bridge scene

This image is quite atmospheric, this is a metro bridge where the light rail system goes over the canal. These images were taken with a Nikon D3200, DSLR.

Bridges at Leabrook

This is always a difficult place to take photos. The light was quite good, but there are lots of dark shadows on the opposite side of the canal. It’s an interesting image though.

What do you think of today’s pictures? Please share your views in the comments box. You can also follow me on Twitter.

5 responses

  1. Hi Mike, The top photo is my favourite this week, though I really like the others too, especially the action shots of the birds!

    The horse and carriage really make the top photo special. I also like the colours of the flowers in the window boxes!

    3, September 2014 at 7:01 pm

    • Hi Carolyn,

      I took about 6 shots of that and then realised that I had switch of my autofocus by mistake and so the pictures were slightly out of focus. I switch it on and went back and got a better shot! The shots of the birds were with a telephoto lens. I turned a cold water tap on today and photographed it with a slow shutter speed. I want to try the same thing with a fast flowing river! It should look good!

      3, September 2014 at 9:45 pm

  2. I like the photo of The Vine.
    What’s the name of the Black Country pub that has the sloping floor in the bar ?

    I’m going to load my camera up for some random shots over the next two weeks
    in the run up to the Scottish Referendum…see how many cocksuckers who want
    to wreck the UK I can record for posterity.

    5, September 2014 at 2:36 pm

    • Hi,

      I’m getting into photographing people now. There are a couple of pubs with sloping floors. You are probably thinking of the Crooked House at Himley near Dudley. I think the floor at the Tilted Barrel in Tipton is similar. I want to photograph that one of the days, ifI can spot somewhere to park. The Vine is in Darlaston, excellent pint!

      5, September 2014 at 7:43 pm

  3. Pingback: The review: an interesting week | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

