This site is English – get used to it…

Thrifty Thursday: save and invest


The Aldi super-six this week are cherry tomatoes (300g), savoy cabbage, carrots (1Kg), celery, onions (1Kg) and snack pack grapes (170g). They are all 39p and that offer lasts until the 24th of September. I had some celery!

The summer comes to an end this weekend and so we have to think about autumn and winter food. I added the celery I bought to my chicken stew that I made earlier in the week. You can make soups and stews through the autumn and winter; they are delicious and they are frugal.

Today’s Aldi special buys are mostly for mothers, babies and small children. The car seat for 19.99 looks good.

The Sunday special buys are mostly cooking things, but there is a laminator too. Those are useful,  but I have lots of plastic sleeves to put documents in.  I’m always tempted by stationary items.

I bought the ham trimmings this week for £1.65 and did a couple of prawn and ham salads. The prawns are expensive, but the ham is cheap, so they even each other out.

I’m a fan of Matalan, I had my new coat from there, but couldn’t find a new sweater for the winter. The website seems to have a better selection. I’ve had three different emails today offering me codes to get 20% off on the website. it says enter code AFF620 to receive discount. You enter the code at the checkout. I might take a look and see if I can find a nice sweater or two for the winter. I had a long sleeve tee shirt in store too, they are handy in winter as an extra layer.

1 sausages

They still haven’t had any more of those delicious gluten free sausages in Aldi. If you can eat ordinary sausages, then the sausages and baked potato meal is great for autumn. We have Halloween and bonfire night coming up soon and this is an ideal frugal meal.

It’s the referendum today for Scotland to decide if it’s going to remain a part of the United Kingdom. It seems the vote will be tight according to the news and the polls. They will almost certainly vote no, I have it on good authority. The gamblers are putting their money on a no vote, not only the ones in the bookies, but the ones on the stock market too.

Sometimes, I get my information for my blog posts from unusual sources. In the case of that referendum I am trusting Britain’s gamblers to be right. I can’t always use the information that I get because it might not be reliable or I can’t reveal my source. I might do a blog post one of the days about those secret sources of information. One whisper I got this week was about the UK’s political leaders. I heard one of them might resign before Christmas…

What do you think? Please share your thoughts in the comments box. You can also follow me on Twitter. It seems the London stock market could be on the rise tomorrow…  Save money and invest!

4 responses

  1. those grapes in aldi at 39p a pack are the sweetest grapes i have ever tasted.

    18, September 2014 at 9:00 pm

    • Hi,

      I had the peaches this week. I think those grapes work out a little expensive compared to the larger pack, but I like seedless grapes.

      This reminds me of a finance writer, attempting to do Aldi down, who said their grapes were ‘watery’. I said maybe it rained just before they were picked! lol

      19, September 2014 at 9:03 am

  2. thanks for saying the larger packs are better value. i must have a look at them next time i go.

    19, September 2014 at 9:51 am

  3. Pingback: The Review: Tipton Canal & Community Festival | Mike10613's Blog

Please share your thoughts here:

